Rugby region: Borders and East Lothian

Map of Borders and East LothianThe Borders and East Lothian region of Scotland has a rich rugby tradition.

There are 31 active rugby clubs in the area, and 16 secondary schools, one independent school and one college.

Current playing numbers are 1787 adults of which 25 are women, and 3582 youths of which 247 are girls.

Rugby in the Borders and East Lothian

The regional development manager for the Borders and East Lothian is Brian Renwick. As an amateur player Brian captained Hawick, and as a professional played for Edinburgh Reivers. He also played for Scotland.  

Brian is responsible for developing the game in the local area. At present, there are 16 development officers in the region.

The aim of the regional development officers is to:

  • increase participation
  • develop stronger clubs
  • ensure a high standard of coaching and referees
  • help players to improve their performance

Development strategy

Contacts for Borders and East Lothian

Brian Renwick:  Regional Development Manager, Borders and East Lothian         brian.renwick@sru.org.uk          

Development officers:

Preston Lodge

Dougie Thomsondougiethomson_plcdo@yahoo.com07766 781 312

Ross High 

Michael Davidsonm1key.davidson@btinternet.com   07850 304 684

Kelso

Mark Coull kelsoydo@yahoo.co.uk     07912 947 687

Hawick

Rocky Johnstonerocky@hawickrfc.co.uk  07812 894 734

Dunbar  

Stephen Wands  stevewands.drfc@googlemail.com07584 075 947

Berwickshire

David Hutchison   davidjhutchison@hotmail.co.uk07595 771 005

Haddington  

Scott Marnochscotty_marnoch69@hotmail.com 07921 655 317

Langholm

Iain Park   iain.park@btinternet.com  07983 710 484

East Lothian

Fergus Pringle   fpringle@eastlothian.gov.uk  07771 515 866

Selkirk   

Iain Paxtoniain.paxton@blueyonder.co.uk07834 357 608

Berwick  

Dougie Halldougiehallrugby@tiscali.co.uk07766 054 947

Jedburgh

Kevin Barrie  nicola@barrie34.fsnet.co.uk 07790 144 317

Melrose   

Ross Miller rossmiller95@hotmail.com07811 637 351

Peebles

George Blairpeeblesydo@tiscali.co.uk 07801 791 253