Rugby region: Central

Map of Central region of ScotlandThe Central region is in the heart of Scotland. It is made up of five local authority areas: Clackmannanshire; East Dunbartonshire; Falkirk; North Lanarkshire, and Stirling.

The region has 15 rugby clubs, 269 primary schools, 52 state secondary schools, 2 independent schools and one university.

1665 adults and 3993 youths registered as rugby players in the area.

Developing rugby in Central Scotland

Peter Cook is Scottish Rugby’s regional development manager for Central. In 2009 he became club development officer for Crieff and Strathearn RFC, and took up his current post at the beginning of January 2012.

Peter has been involved with rugby for 35 years having played for Howe of Fife, Dunfermline, Alloa and Crieff.

In partnership with clubs and local authorities, Scottish Rugby currently has nine full-time development officers, one part-time development officer, ten modern apprentices and a part-time women and girls’ rugby coordinator working to develop rugby in the Central community.

Development strategy

Development contacts for Central

For more information about rugby development in the Central and West Lothian region, call Rugby Development Manager Peter Cook on  07764 178 956, email or contact your local development officer.

Development officers

Alan Glens

Mark Mooneymark.mooney4@sky.com07967 376 395


Callum Harris

07852 380 243


Chris 379 818


Iain Grantiain.grant@nlleisure.com07429 003 754

East Dunbartonshire

Derek  O'RiordanDerek.O' 917 020


Stewart Milne stewart.milne@falkirkcommunitytrust.org07808 509 668


JP Wardrdo@hillfootsrfc.com07909 537 303


Darren Moondarren.moon@nlleisure.com07983 510 842

Women and girls

Jennifer 390 813


Craig 067 894

Stirling County

Millan BrowneMillanbrowne@hotmail.com07917 793 575