Rugby region: Glasgow South

The Glasgow South region is made up of seven local authorities :

  • Inverclyde
  • Renfrewshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • North Ayrshire
  • East Ayrshire
  • South Ayrshire
  • Dumfries and Galloway.

Scottish Rugby gives support to 24 active rugby clubs, as well as 338 primary schools and 71 secondary schools, 3 independents, 2 universities and 4 colleges.

At present there are1829 adults and 3452 youths registered as rugby players in Glasgow South, including 241 girls.

Developing rugby in Glasgow South

Glen Tippett is Scottish Rugby’s Regional Development Manager for Glasgow South. He has been the regional development manager for the area since 2006.

Glenn has worked in sports development for the past 15 years and was an active schools coordinator in both Scotland and New Zealand. He is responsible for the development of rugby in the Scottish Rugby currently has 12 development officers working in the community, and four SVQ community coaches.

For more information on rugby development in Glasgow South, call Glenn Tippet on 07764 178913, email glen.tippett@sru.org.uk, or contact your local club development officer.

 

Rugby development contacts for Glasgow South

Ardrossan Andrew Duncan ADuncan@kaleisure.com07436 561 356
Ayr Rugby  Stuart FenwickStuart.Fenwick@south-ayrshire.gov.uk07736 320 624
Carrick        Craig DavidsonCraig.Davidson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk07736 911 906
Co-lead for female rugby in the West  Chris Reid chris.reid@renfrewshire.gov.uk07534 008 324
Cumnock  Harry Reillyhreilly@btopenworld.com07549 161 413
Dumfries RFC     Paddy Coupar Pcoupar22@gmail.com 07580 025 011
Dumfries RFCRobert McHenryrandkmchenry@yahoo.co.uk07795 552 701
East Ayrshire Rugby  Stephen Mainstephen.main@east-ayrshire.gov.uk07795 506 394
Garnock  Gavin BlackburnGBlackburn@kaleisure.com07436 561 357
Greenock WanderersBrendan McGroarty brendan.mcgroarty@inverclyde.gov.uk07827 257 968
Greenock WanderersGrant AndersonGrant.Anderson@inverclyde.gov.uk07515 754 076
Irvine Michael Kirk michael.kirk@south-ayrshire.gov.uk07752 250 831
Kilmarnock RugbyColin Sturgeoncolinsturgeonkrfcdo@hotmail.co.uk07799 707 374
Newton StewartJamie Muir Jamie.Muir@dumgal.gov.uk07825 303 605
Renfrewshire Lindsey Smith lindsey.smith@renfrewshire.gov.uk07884 380 959
Stewartry Rugby John Muir John.Muir@dumgal.gov.uk07854 363 129
Whitecraigs  Stewart Magorianclub-development-officer@whitecraigs.org07792 567 672