Scotland U16 teams named ahead of first Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival fixtures

The Scotland U16 Blue and Red teams to face Dragons and RGC respectively in the first set of Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival fixtures tomorrow at Parc Eirias have been named (kick-off 5pm and 7pm).

Having travelled south from BT Murrayfield to Parc Eirias yesterday morning, the players prepared for Saturday evening’s matches with two training sessions today in North Wales.

Scotland U16 Blues Head Coach Steve Lawrie said: “After spending the majority of yesterday on a bus, the boys were eager to get out and train today.

Tomorrow’s games give us an opportunity to show the Welsh teams what we’re capable of and I know the players will want to start the festival well.”

Scotland U16 Reds Head Coach Bryan Easson said: “It’s not an easy task to choose a starting team from such a highly capable group of players.

"They have all made a determined effort to take on all our coaching advice over the past few months and we know the teams can challenge their opponents over the course of the festival at Parc Eirias.”


Scotland U16 Blues to face Dragons at Parc Eirias on Saturday 8 April (kick-off 5pm) 

15. Nick McAllister (St Aloysius’ College)

14. Adam Scott (St Aloysius’ College / Helensburgh)

13. Keir Singleton (Balfron High School / Strathendrick)

12. Cameron Furley (St Albans Boys School / Saracens)

11. Brandon Mills (Glenwood High School / Howe of Fife)


10. Joseph Strain (Castle Douglas High School / Stewartry)

9. Finn Livingstone-Learmonth (Wellington College)


1. Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy / Cumnock)

2. Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy / Ayr)

3. George Breese (Glenalmond College)

4. Rory Jackson (Park Mains School / Bishopton)

5. Mathew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides High School / East Kilbride)

6. Jamie Cruickshank (Stirling County)

7. Archie Smeaton (Beverley Grammar School / Yorkshire Carnegie)

8. Alex Marsh (Strathallan School / Perthshire)



16. Greg Clunas (Bell Baxter High School / Howe of Fife)

17. Callum Brown (Gryffe High School / Bishopton)

18. Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordon’s College)

19. Luca Alessandri (Kings Park Secondary School / Cartha Queen’s Park)

20. Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordon’s College)

21. Finn McIlwraith (Dollar Academy)

22. Harry Mercer (St Leonards / Madras)

23. Andrew Hughes (St Aloysius’ College / GHA)

24. Colin Taylor (The Glasgow Academy / Glasgow Hawks)

25. Mungo Somerville (Waid Academy / Madras)


Scotland U16 Reds to face RGC at Parc Eirias on Saturday 8 April (kick-off 7pm) 

15. Nathan Moffat (Stewart’s Melville College)

14. Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School)

13. Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School)

12. Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir)

11. Ethan McVicker (Boroughmuir)


10. Alex Harley (George Watson’s College)

9. Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School)


 1. Jake Fairley (Earlston High School / Melrose)

2. Will Harper (Merchiston Castle School)

3. Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School / Kelso)

4. Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School / Currie)

5. Struan Whittaker (Trinity Academy / BATS)

6. Angus Haswell (Caistor Grammar School / Leicester Tigers)

7. Eck Allan (North Berwick High School / North Berwick)

8. Ben Muncaster (Rugby School / North Berwick)



16. Benjamin Slessor (Trent College / Leicester Tigers)

17. Nathanael Fagerson (Sherborne School / Bath)

18. Angus MacDonald (Warwick School)

19. Addy Robertson (Stewart’s Melville College)

20. Harri Morris (George Watson’s College)

21. Fergus Johnson (Galashiels Academy / Gala)

22. Scott King (Preston Lodge High School / Preston Lodge)

23. Jamie Stephen (George Watson’s College)

24. Finlay McNeill (Stewart’s Melville College)

25. Harry Paterson (Fettes College)