Teams announced for the Royal Bank of Scotland Scottish Varsity Matches

The teams have been announced for the world’s oldest varsity match, which sees the women’s and men’s teams from the University of Edinburgh and University of St Andrews play out an ancient rivalry at BT Murrayfield on Saturday (22 September).

The event, which kicks-off on the international pitch at 2.45pm with the women’s match followed by the men’s game at 4pm, has seen in excess of 10,000 fans flock to the stands previously.

Edinburgh Men will be looking to retain the title they won last year following a four-year hiatus, whilst St Andrews Women will be keen to challenge their Edinburgh counterparts who have won all their previous varsity encounters.

As the four teams prepare for their games on Saturday, Zak Redgrave, son of multiple Olympic gold medal winner rower Sir Steve Redgrave, who plays 2nd Row for University of Edinburgh, described how growing up with professional athletes as parents has influenced him.

Redgrave said: "It was definitely interesting growing up with professional athletes for parents, as there is always a high standard that is expected from you.

“My father and I have bonded heavily over my sport over the years. He always came to school matches whenever he could and would always act as a second coach even though he has had very limited exposure to playing rugby.”

The match also provides a fantastic platform to promote the women’s games in Scotland. Elis Martin, Edinburgh University Ladies Rugby Hooker and Scotland U19s 7s player, who is competing in her first Varsity match, spoke about the influence rugby can have.

Martin said: “Rugby brings people together and makes you a stronger, more driven individual. It allows you to meet friends you would never met.

“Rugby pushes the boundaries of what we can do to support one another as athletes and individuals.”

Both Universities are leading the way in Scottish Rugby by each employing full time members of staff to focus on their Rugby Programmes.

The appointment of Scott Lawson, a vastly experienced former Scotland international with 47 caps, as the new Director of Rugby at St Andrews has galvanised both teams and is a true reflection on the standard of university rugby.

Scott said: “The traditions of the past along with the current world class facilities and vision for the future for all sport at St Andrews add to my excitement in leading what is an already successful rugby programme.”

St Andrews Director of Sport Stephen Stewart said: “To have a world renowned international athlete of Scott Lawson’s calibre wanting to be a part of the sport programme at St Andrews is recognition of where the University is now placed within the sports sector.”

Tickets are available online in advance from priced at £5 for students and U18’s and £10 for adults. Tickets will also be available at the ticket office at BT Murrayfield on the day of the match priced £10 for students and U18’s and £15 for adults.

The Scottish Varsity Matches are sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland, supported by Campus Living Villages, Macron and PlayerLayer and delivered in partnership with Scottish Rugby.

RBS Scottish Varsity – Saturday 22 September

University of Edinburgh Women v University of St Andrews Women, BT Murrayfield, kick-off 2.45pm

University of Edinburgh Women: Annie McKelvey; Jess McClintick, Evie Gallagher, Lily Dibb-Fuller, Ellie Jones; Roisin Holmes, Rachel Law; Anne Young, Elis Martin, Caroline Parker-Smith, Maëla Mancip, Nicola Howat CAPTAIN, Tayla Hammond, Lucy Winter, Sally Stott.

Replacements: Sarah Donnelly, Emma Dunbar, Ciorstaidh Galloway, Laura Keay, Beth Thompson, Lindsay Maguire, India Birrell.

University of St Andrews Women: Shona Parratt; Phoebe Drew, Rosanna Curtis, Rhiannon Fox-Rothwell, Izzy Clark; Siân McGuinness, Emily Jones; Miriam Woods, Beth Tappenden, Jordan Coules, Mhairi Falconer, Jenny Menday, Abigail Fryer, Emma Stormonth, Amy Parry CAPTAIN

Replacements: Eliza Topliff, Eilidh Sword, Alexis Jenkins, Alice Smith, Victoria Armstrong, Naomi Boon.


University of Edinburgh Men 1st XV v University of St Andrews Men 1st XV, BT Murrayfield, kick-off 4pm

University of Edinburgh: Bruno Smith; Arthur Friend, Connor Keys, Adam Causer, Harry Hitchens; George Wallington, James Small-Edwards; Max Young, James Boyle, Jonny Gibson, Zak Redgrave, James Nelson, Scott Burnside, Harry Ryan, Ed Russell CAPTAIN

Replacements: Nicholas Brimacombe, Toby Woods, Sam White, Cameron Klinger, Erik Martensson, Oscar Ryan, Joe Stainer

University of St Andrews: Kelvin Chen; Roland Walker CAPTAIN, Richard de Rome, Rob Lind, Fezan Mughal; Scott MacGregor, Cameron Lynde; Max Kauffman, Jamie Morrison, Matthew Phillipson, Michael Sutherland, Stephen Tue, Alex Whyte, Alex Hodgins, TJ Akinjobi

Replacements: Hector MacLean, Myles Keane, Harry Carden, Dan Cox, Jamie Kelly, Archie Boyes, William Syme.