Scottish Students head to Belfast to face Ireland

This weekend will see various Scotland against Ireland encounters across a number of different age-grades and representative teams. One of those teams will be Scottish Students Rugby squad, who travel to Belfast. 

It will be the first away fixture in a number of years for the Scottish side after Ireland Students were victorious in the game in Scotland last year.

There are eight Scottish institutions in total being represented in the squad, with former Scotland Under 19’s Ben Enyon and Josh Laird involved.

A number of Tennent’s Premiership players have been included; Harry Warr (Ayr), Alex Ball (Heriot’s) and Stirling trio Andy Orr, Billy Dinneen and Bryce Robertson are part of the traveling party.

The team will be in good hands with former Director of Operations for the British and Irish Lions and former Scotland national Team Manager, Guy Richardson, overseeing proceedings for the 23-man squad.

Ahead of the fixture East Development Manager Chris Pacey said, “Through our continued work and partnership with Scottish Student Sport, it has been fantastic to see the increase in numbers of players and teams across the University and College sector over the past few years.

“The success of Scottish institutions in British Universities College Sport over the last few years is really encouraging for everyone involved, and through our work with Scottish Student Sport, this has enabled us to support a fantastic squad of players and coaches to head over to play Ireland this Sunday.

“We wish the squad all the best, and hope that all involved have a fantastic experience”

The fixture kicks off at 14.30pm on Sunday 10 February at Queens’ University, Belfast.


Andy Orr – University of Stirling
Ross Gordon – University of Glasgow
Owen Jackson – University of Strathclyde
Billy Dineen – University of Stirling
Erik Cavan – University of Strathclyde
Bryce Robertson – University of Stirling
Lewis Govenlock – University of Aberdeen
Graham Malley – University of Glasgow
Cameron Reece – University of Glasgow
Rob Lind (c)* – University of St. Andrews
Ryan Sweeney – University of Glasgow
Duncan Wither* – University of Strathclyde
Michael Keegan* – University of Glasgow


Alex Ball – Heriot Watt University
Harry Warr – University of Glasgow
Kerr Stoddart (vc)* – University of Glasgow
Fraser Gosse* – University of Glasgow
Josh Laird – Abertay University
Max Stobbs – University of Aberdeen
Ben Eynon – University of Strathclyde
Sam Harrison – University of Stirling
Nathan Brown – University of Aberdeen
Martin Cimprich – Queen Margaret University