Membership of the SRU and Club Names

The Scottish Rugby Union is the recognised governing body for Rugby Union in Scotland.

The Union’s governing document, the SRU Bye Laws, make provision for a number of categories of membership. These are:

    1. Full Member clubs
    2. Associate Member clubs
    3. Affiliated Members (such as rugby playing schools)
    4. Ex Officio Members (such as our Past Presidents, the SRU Trustees, Council members)
    5. Honorary Members
    6. Associated and Affiliated Bodies (such as the Scottish Rugby Referees Association)

The following details relate to the membership of Scottish Rugby by Full Member and Associate Member clubs. 

Scottish Rugby’s Regulation

Scottish Rugby has adopted a domestic regulation supplementing our Bye Laws and providing further detail in relation to membership of the Union by Clubs, permissible Club names and permissible Team names. All those within the Scottish Rugby Union’s jurisdiction are required to comply with this Regulation.

SRU regulation on membership and policy on club names

Applying for Membership of the Union

Membership of the Union provides a range of great benefits including free catastrophic injury insurance, access to training and education courses, preferential ticket rights and the ability to generate ticket sales commission.

The process for applying for membership of the Union is quick and easy.

Download application form (MS Word)
Download application form (PDF)

Frequently Asked Questions

To assist those with queries with regard to have to register a new club with the Union or in relation to Club or Team names we have prepared a summary of Frequently Asked Questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact details

If you can't find the information you're looking for or have a specific query on Membership of the Union or in relation to Club or Team names please contact Scottish Rugby’s Head of Regulation, Graham Ireland, at [email protected] or 0131 346 5004.