Scotland 7s

The Scotland 7s team plays all year round, in World Rugby's HSBC Sevens World Series.  Each year, one leg of the series takes place in Scotland, at the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s (Saturday 9 and Sunday 10 May 2015).

The game of rugby sevens was invented in the Scottish Border town of Melrose when a local butcher, Ned Haig, was looking to raise much needed funds for Melrose Rugby Club.

It has grown from those humble roots to become a global phenomenon and, as well as being a core sport at the Commonwealth Games has now achieved Olympic status and it will make its debut at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The game is played on a standard rugby pitch with matches lasting 14 minutes (seven minutes per half). This makes for exciting competitions, where several matches are contested in a single day. Sevens tournaments have a party atmosphere, as rugby fans from around the world try to outdo each other in outlandish fancy dress.

Head Coach: Calum MacRae
Manager: John Manson
Skills & Analysis: Graham Shiel

HSBC Sevens World Series 2014/15

  • Australia - 11-12 October 2014
  • Dubai - 5-6 December 2014
  • South Africa - 13-14 December 2014
  • New Zealand - 6-7 February 2015
  • USA - 13-15 February 2015
  • Hong Kong - 27-29 March 2015
  • Japan - 4-5 April 2015
  • Scotland 9-10 May 2015
  • England 16-17 May 2015