Cross To Make Debut As Scotland Make Six Changes For Visit Of Welsh

Cross To Make Debut As Scotland Make Six Changes For Visit Of Welsh

Scotland have awarded a first cap to 26-year-old Edinburgh tight-head prop Geoff Cross  as they begin their 2009 RBS 6 Nations Championship campaign against Wales at Murrayfield on SundayCross, a qualified doctor, who becomes Scotland’s 1011th internationalist, is one of six changes from the team that started Scotland’s last match, the 41-0 victory over Canada, with Hugo Southwell, Graeme Morrison, Sean Lamont, Jason White and Allister Hogg – who have 207 caps between them – all returning.Only 2700 tickets remain on sale for Sunday’s match.White, who will be winning his 70th cap, was introduced at lock during the Calcutta Cup win against England last year and has impressed in the boiler-house for his club Sale.Ben Cairns, who made his debut on the tour of Argentina last summer, will make his first Six Nations appearance.Scotland coach Frank Hadden said: “I have been referring recently to the growing strength in depth of the Scotland squad.  The quality of the side we’ve chosen to play Wales is an excellent example of that.”On the selection of Geoff Cross, Hadden reflected: “Geoff first joined the squad during our tour of Argentina last summer and we have every confidence in him.  Having waited patiently through five games, it’s great that he now has this opportunity.”Neither Euan Murray (rib) nor Nathan Hines (knee) could be considered for Sunday’s match.  Scotland team doctor James Robson said: “They continue to make slow but steady progress.  It’s too early at this stage to give an accurate prognosis of whether they will be available for selection for next week.”Scotland team (sponsor Murray) to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations ChampionshipMurrayfield on Sunday 8 February, kick-off 3pm 15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh) 14 Simon Webster (Edinburgh)>13 Ben Cairns (Edinburgh)12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)11 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints)10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)>9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh) CAPTAIN1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)3 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh)*4 Jason White (Sale Sharks)5 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)6 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh)8 Simon Taylor (Stade Francais)7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)Substitutes16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)17 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester)18 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)19 Scott Gray (Northampton Saints)20 Chris Cusiter (Perpignan)21 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh)22 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)* = New capNot considered due to injury Nathan Hines (Perpignan) and Euan Murray (Northampton Saints), Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks), Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Dave Callam, Ross Rennie, Matt Mustchin (all Edinburgh)Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland). Touch-judges: Chris White and Rob Debney (both England). Television match official: Geoff Warren (England)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners