Glasgow Warriors U19 v Edinburgh Rugby U19 | Match Report

Glasgow Warriors U19 v Edinburgh Rugby U19 | Match Report

Edinburgh Rugby U19s fell short at Scotstoun Stadium yesterday as home side Glasgow Warriors U19s proved too strong in a 32-12 victory.

The Warriors shot out to a first-half lead as impressive winger Amena Caqusau (GHA RFC) grabbed a brace of tries, with number 8 Johnny Morris (unattached) grabbing a third for the hosts.

Warriors stand-off Andrew McLean (Glasgow Hawks RFC) slotted home a pair of conversions and added another penalty to boot.

Edinburgh responded well in the opening period with winger Finlay Wheelans (Selkirk RFC) and scrum-half Hector Patterson (Hawick RFC) both crossing the whitewash.

With Edinburgh stand-off Luke Townsend (Melrose RFC) adding a conversion, it was Warriors who led 22-12 at the break.

The second-half was a far more cagey affair with the hosts managing the only further points of the afternoon.

Hooker Lachlan Forsyth (Stirling County RFC) powered over and with McLean converting, it brought the score to 29-12.

With standout playmaker and goal-kicker McLean adding a further penalty for the hosts, it brought proceedings to a close, with Warriors running out 32-12 winners on a wet afternoon in Glasgow’s West End.

Glasgow Warriors U19 Team

15. Scott Watson (Ayr RFC)*
14. Callum Stephen (GHA RFC)*
13. Finlay Thompson (Musselburgh RFC)*
12. Aminio Bogidrau (GHA RFC)*
11. Amena Caqusau (GHA RFC)*
10. Andrew McLean (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*

9. Eric Davy (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*
8. Jonny Morris (Unattached)*
7. Craig Nolan (Glasgow Hawks)*
6. Adam Flynn (GHA RFC)*
5. Ryan Burke (Glasgow Hawks RFC)
4. Ruairidh Hart (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*
3. Eben Cairns (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*
2. Lachlan Forsyth (Stirling County RFC)
1. Aaron Burgess (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*

16. Patrick Rodgerson (Glasgow University)
17. Ollie Bowden (GHA RFC)
18. Cameron Murphy (Stirling County RFC)
19. Robin Pratt (Glasgow University)
20. Archie Clarke (Dundee Rugby)*
21. Finn Carden (GHA RFC)
22. Euan McAra (Glasgow Hawks RFC)
23. Kerr Yule (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*
24. Euan Muirhead (Glasgow Hawks RFC)*
25. Ross Birnie (Robert Gordons College/Gordonians RFC)*

Edinburgh Rugby U19 Team

15. Innes Parkin (Heriot’s Rugby)*
14. Finlay Wheelans (Selkirk RFC)
13. Kerr Johnston (Boroughmuir Bears)*
12. Alex Thom (Stirling Wolves)*
11. Noah Sakapaji (Heriot’s Rugby)
10. Luke Townsend (Melrose RFC)*

9. Hector Patterson (Hawick RFC)*
8. Finlay Sinclair (Peebles RFC)
7. Monroe Job (Selkirk RFC)*
6. Liam Habib (Boroughmuir Bears)
5. Duncan Webb (Heriot’s Rugby)*
4. Euan McVie (Edinbugh Accies)*
3. Andrew Kirk (Melrose RFC)
2. Jerry Blyth Lafferty (Boroughmuir Bears)*
1. Craig Davidson (Watsonians)

16. Marcus Brogan (Hawick RFC)*
17. Ross Brown (Musselburgh RFC)
18. Cameron Cartwright (Edinburgh Accies)
19. Charlie Burns (St Andrews University)
20. Ben Weir (Melrose RFC)
21. Ewan Hunter (Peebles RFC)
22. Ross Cadzow (St Andrews University)
23. Guy Fitzpatrick (Heriot’s Rugby)*
24. Patrick Cannon (Peebles RFC)
25. Gavin Lockhart (Boroughmuir Bears)

*FOSROC Academy Supported Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners