Scottish Futures team named for Wales match

Scottish Futures team named for Wales match

Scottish Futures Head Coach Claire Cruikshank has named her side to face Wales U23 at Oriam tomorrow (Sunday 23 April, kick-off 11.45am).

Cruikshank has made nine changes to the side that faced England U20s at Kingston Park back in March, with Katie Lindsay, Eve Thomson, Kirsty Ritchie, Rachel Law, Ceitidh Ainsworth, Hannah Walker, Sarah Denholm and Sky Phimister all joining the starting line-up, with Freya Walker moving to blindside flanker.

University of Edinburgh’s Holly McIntyre will continue to skipper the side.

Cruikshank said: “Training has been really good, with lots of learning taken onboard from the match against England.

“We have had two camps since that match and I’ve been very encouraged by the effort and hard-work from the players during our recent sessions.

“We have a squad of 26 so we are looking to try lots of different combinations, allowing players an opportunity to test themselves at this level.”

Scottish Futures team to face Wales U23 at Oriam, Edinburgh on Sunday 23 April (kick off 11.45am)

15. Roma Fraser (Cartha Queens Park)

14. Sky Phimister (Stirling County RFC)
13. Holly McIntyre CAPTAIN (University of Edinburgh)
12. Sarah Denholm (University of Edinburgh)
11. Hannah Walker (University of Edinburgh)

10. Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County RFC)
9. Rachel Law (Watsonians)

1. Poppy Fletcher (Heriot’s Rugby)
2. Nikki Simpson (Garioch)
3. Katie Lindsay (Stirling County RFC)
4. Eve Thomson (Hillhead Jordanhill)
5. Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh)
6. Freya Walker (Watsonians)
7. Isabella Hannay (DMP Sharks)
8. Kirsty Ritchie (Biggar)


16. Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh)
17. Lindsey McDiarmid (Garioch)
18. Molly Poolman (Watsonians)
19. Emma Turner (Corstorphine Cougars)
20. Sophie Murphy (Stirling County)
21. Samaanther Taganekurukuru (Heriot’s)
22. Alex Stewart (University of Edinburgh)
23. Rhea Clarke (University of Edinburgh)
24. Carla McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)
25. Rachel Philipps (University of Edinburgh)
26. Cieron Bell (University of Edinburgh)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners