Commentators’ Team of the Sprint | FOSROC Super Series 2023

Commentators’ Team of the Sprint | FOSROC Super Series 2023

Every game in the FOSROC Super Series Sprint had commentary for either live broadcast or for our highlights package. As such, we called upon those who had commentated on games across the Sprint to give us a Commentators' Team of the Sprint.

You can vote for the FOSROC Super Series Fan’s Team of the Sprint HERE – voting closes on Sunday 19 June. 

Each of the commentators were allocated certain positions and here’s who they’ve nominated as the best of the best in this year’s FOSROC Super Series Sprint:

1 – George Breese (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Dale Clancy who said: “Consistent for Stirling in a campaign that showed signs of progress and evolution. He has been left on the field for lengthy durations throughout the Sprint, showing not only his importance to his team but demonstrating the engine that he has, against packs that certainly do not hold back at scrum time.” These sentiments were echoed by Paul Mitchell who commented: “A reliable and consistent performer throughout the Sprint Series, the 22 year old has been a strong building block up front for the Wolves.”

2  – Jerry Blyth-Lafferty (Boroughmuir Bears)

Nominated by Colin Gregor who said: “Accurate basics, all action around the pitch, good footwork making him elusive. Versatile in position he plays and team he plays for!”

3 – Euan McLaren (Heriot’s Rugby)

Nominated by Dale Clancy who said: “McLaren has been a steady hand at scrum time and provides a reliable platform for the Nails. Industrious in the loose too, which is a necessary quality required in the front row these days.” Colin Gregor agreed saying, “McLaren is effective at scrum time, gets involved a lot and causes problems for the opposition.”

4 – Luis Ball (Watsonians)

Nominated by Colin Gregor who called him: “Disruptive at set piece and strong player with the ball in hand.” Dale Clancy mirrored these comments as he said Ball is “formidable in contact and provides something different to some other middle rowers in the competition. A well-rounded competitor throughout.”

5 – Ronan Seydak (Heriot’s Rugby)

Nominated by Dale Clancy who said: “A standout in the second row in an impressive campaign for Heriots. Linking up with different personnel during the Sprint, Seydak displayed his value both sides of the ball, especially in the line out.” Paul Mitchell agreed as he commented: “Ever present for the Edinburgh side in the Sprint, indeed he has started the last 14 Super Series games. Gets the nod ahead of others for his all round play and his ability to be impactful at the heart of the action.”

6 – Ryan Sweeney (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Heather Lockhart who said: “His consistency and work-rate across all rounds is brilliant, particularly in the tackle and at the breakdown.” These comments were echoed by Chris Paterson who also nominated Sweeney saying: “You get the same every time from him. Aggressive and hugely influential at the breakdown.”

7 – Iain Wilson (Heriot’s Rugby)

Nominated by Heather Lockhart who said: “His leadership and finishing ability, particularly off the back of some excellent lineout drives were excellent, especially in helping to secure the draw with Ayrshire Bulls in Round 5.” Andrew Petrie agreed calling Wilson an ” Absolutely lethal try-scoring machine!”

8 – Blair Macpherson (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “A stand out player once again this season, scores tries, makes big tackles, leads well and controls the game!” Macpherson also got Heather Lockhart’s vote as she commended him “For leading his team to a first Sprint title by producing consistent player of the match performances. His try scoring is of note but so too is his hard work on both sides of the ball and also his control at the back of the scrum.”

9 – Ruairidh Swan (Boroughmuir Bears)

Nominated by Andrew Petrie who said: “Swan is exceptionally dangerous from the back of a ruck, his sniping and eye for a gap are a deadly combination.”

10 – Jason Baggott (Watsonians)

Nominated by Heather Lockhart who commented on Baggott’s “high-level reading and control of the game with some great tries coming as a result. Started at 12 and then moved to 10. Even when things are not going the team’s way, he doesn’t give up and tries to find a way to win.”

11 – Jamie Shedden (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Lee Jones who said: “Shedden provided versatility at wing or outside-centre for the Bulls and with his powerful running lines and his knack of being in the right place at the right time earning six tries across the Sprint Series.”

12 – Grant Hughes (Heriot’s Rugby)

Nominated by Lee Jones who stated: “Hughes was involved in some key moments for Heriots throughout the Series and contributed to an impressive partnership with Matt Davidson. Consistently strong both sides of the ball throughout whilst offering a turnover threat in the midfield channel. Provided strong distribution skills and leadership as a co-captain.”

13 – Robert Beattie (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Lee Jones who said: “Beattie showed intelligence and composure as a ball playing option in the 13 channel for the Bulls but also showed class in his support lines, finishing and defensive work.” Chris Paterson also added that “He ran some great angles in attack and was a guiding force in a young midfield.”

14 – Finn Douglas (Southern Knights)

Nominated by Lee Jones who said: “A real attacking threat on the wing with tremendous balance, acceleration and footwork. Showed rare finishing ability with his four tries across both Edinburgh and the Knights.”

15 – Elias Caven (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who called him “An attacking threat every time he touches the ball!” A sentiment shared by Lee Jones who also commented: “Caven demonstrated the pace and finishing class he is known, contributed to the goal-kicking duties and offered a different threat through his intelligent kicking game from fullback.”

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners