England team to face Scotland

England team to face Scotland

​England Head Coach Eddie Jones has named his 23-man squad to play Scotland in the second round of the Guinness Six Nations at BT Murrayfield (kick-off 4.45pm) - live on BBC.

Loosehead prop Mako Vunipola, hooker Jamie George (both Saracens) and tighthead Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) are named in the front-row with George Kruis and Maro Itoje (both Saracens) selected in the second-row.

Northampton Saints’ Lewis Ludlam is named at blind-side flanker with Bath’s Sam Underhill at openside and Sale Sharks’ Tom Curry at number 8.

Gloucester’s Willi Heinz starts at scrum-half with Ben Youngs moved to the bench.

Leicester Tigers’ George Ford and captain Owen Farrell (Saracens) will play stand-off and inside-centre respectively, with Jonathan Joseph (Bath) named at outside-centre, in place of the injured Tiger Manu Tuilagi.

Northampton Saints George Furbank, who made his England debut last weekend in France, returns at full-back with Elliot Daly (Saracens) and Jonny May (Leicester) on the wings.

Uncapped players Tom Dunn (Bath) and Ben Earl (Saracens) are named on the bench, with lock Joe Launchbury (Wasps) returning to the match-day 23 after recovering from injury.

Dunn was recalled back into the squad after Luke Cowan-Dickie left camp this morning to be with his partner who has gone into labour.

Head Coach Eddie Jones said: “Preparation this week has been great. We have sought to address the issues from the France game and have had a really good and sharp preparation for Scotland.

“Scotland are a dangerous side. They like to play with a lot of width and with a lot of flow and tempo in their game. We want to make sure we dominate the gain line.

“Their win record against England at Murrayfield is substantially higher than their overall record against us, so we have to recognise they are a dangerous beast and we have to be at our best to beat them.”

England team to play Scotland at BT Murrayfield Stadium

15. George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)

14. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps)
13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 48 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 80 caps) C
11. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 40 caps)

10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps)
9. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 58 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 46 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 32 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 35 caps)
5. George Kruis (Saracens, 42 caps)
6. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 7 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 16 caps)
8. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 20 caps)

16. Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
19. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 62 caps)
20. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 82 caps)
21. Ben Earl (Saracens, uncapped)
22. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 96 caps)
23. Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)

Scotland team now announced 

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners