Two uncapped players in Ireland team

Two uncapped players in Ireland team

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell has included two uncapped players in his first match day selection for Ireland’s opening Test of the Guinness Six Nations against Scotland in Dublin.

Former Ireland U20 Captain Caelan Doris will make his Ireland debut on Saturday at number 8, where he’ll be joined by by CJ Stander and Josh van der Flier. in the back-row.

The front-row is made up of Cian Healy, Rob Herring and Tadgh Furlong with Iain Henderson and James Ryan named at lock.

Ireland captain Johnny Sexton is joined by regular half-back partner Conor Murray, while Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose are named in the centre, with Jacob Stockdale and Andrew Conway on the wings.

Jordan Larmour is named at full-back.

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell

The other uncapped player is Ronan Kelleher who is named as the replacement hooker.

Kelleher is joined in the replacements by Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner, Peter O’Mahony, John Cooney, Ross Byrne and Robbie Henshaw.

The Scotland team will be named by Head Coach Gregor Townsend this Thursday. Yesterday he gave an insight into the team’s first overseas camp in Spain and reflected on the past week.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners