Papa Johns Tartan Touch

Papa Johns Tartan Touch is Scottish Rugby’s Fun, Simple and Social version of non-contact rugby.

What is Papa Johns Tartan Touch?

Following the partnership between Scottish Rugby and Papa Johns in February 2022, the programme has been known as ‘Papa Johns Tartan Touch’, with the pizza delivery brand proudly working to support rugby communities in Scotland.

Running between May and July, Tartan Touch is designed to provide a simplified version of rugby with the aim of attracting players of all abilities, ages and levels of experience who are looking to improve their fitness through simple and social activity.

What are the rules?

AIM: Touch the ball down over opponent’s goal line. To do this, keep possession by avoiding being touched.

Touched 6 times Offload within 2 steps or 2 seconds – No offside from the offload
Ball leaves the pitch Place ball on ground – Offside line created
Ball passed forward, dropped forward, or kicked forward Must be passed away by touched player or a teammate
Foul play by team in possession

Papa Johns Tartan Touch hubs for 2023

Caledonia Midlands: Aberfeldy RFC, Arbroath RFC*, Bannockburn RFC*, Blairgowrie Rams Rugby Club*, Carnoustie HSFP RFC, Crieff and Strathearn RFC, Dunfermline Rugby Football Club, Falkirk Rugby Club, Grangemouth Stags RFC*, Hillfoots RFC*, Howe of Fife RFC, Kinross RFC, Kirkcaldy RFC, Madras Rugby Club*, McLaren Rugby Club, Panmure RFC, Perthshire Rugby, Strathendrick RFC, Strathmore RFC

Caledonia North: Banff Rugby Club, Ellon Rugby Club, Mackie RFC, Moray RFC, Peterhead Rugby Club*, Ross Sutherland RFC*, Shetland Rugby Club, Skye Rugby*

East: Berwick RFC, Currie Chieftains, Dalkieth RFC, Dunbar, Duns RFC*, Forrester Rugby Club, Gala RFC, Haddington RFC, Jed Thistle RFC, Lasswade Rugby Club, Leith Rugby, Linlithgow, Lismore RFC, Musselburgh, North Berwick RFC, Peebles RFC, Penicuik Rugby Club, Portobello RFC, Walkerburn Rugby Club*

Glasgow North: Allan Glens RFC*, Cambuslang RFC, Cartha Queens Park RFC, Clydebank RFC*, Cumbernauld RFC*, East Kilbride Rugby Club, GHA RFC, Hamilton RFC, Hillhead Jordanhill RFC, Islay Rugby Club, Isle of Mull Rugby+, Mid Argyll RFC*, Strathaven RFC, Uddingston RFC, Waysiders Drumpellier, West of Scotland FC*, Whitecraigs Rugby Club

Glasgow South: Annan Rugby Club, Ayr Rugby Club*, Cumnock RFC*, Greenock Wanderers, Irvine RFC*, Kilmarnock RFC*, Newton Stewart RFC*, Paisley Rugby club, Wigtownshire Rugby Football Club*

*Denotes new Papa Johns Tartan Touch hub

Get in touch

If you have any queries, please email [email protected]

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners