Robinson Welcomes Back Scotland Quartet

Robinson Welcomes Back Scotland Quartet

Andy Robinson has welcomed back Scotland internationalists Allister Hogg, Gavin Kerr and Hugo Southwell into the starting line-up for the Magners League match against Munster on Friday evening (15 February, kick off 7.30pm) while Nick De Luca is named amongst the replacements as Edinburgh aim to record their fifth successive league win. All four played during Scotland’s RBS 6 Nations match against Wales last Saturday and have been given the green light to feature for third-placed Edinburgh against former Heineken Cup winners Munster._And Robinson believes Edinburgh have been boosted by their return, although he says the non-international members of the squad have been preparing excellently.Robinson said: Our focus is on beating Munster, so we have picked a side that can beat them and it is good that they are coming back in. ‘the squad members that stayed behind here at Edinburgh have been training hard and everyone realises it is important that we put a performance together._’the team have not played together for a few weeks, so it is important that we produce a good performance and find some rhythm going into the game._In a new look back division, back rower Roland Reid has been handed the number 11 shirt and Robinson says the 17-stone player’s sheer power will be an asset on the wing. He added: We looked at how we could get the best out of Roly. We feel that having that power and pace out wide will give us some extra options in our attacking play. On the injury front, lock Ben Gissing (calf), winger Simon Webster (hamstring) and back rower David Callam (neck and shoulder) were not considered because of injury problems._In the front row, hooker Andrew Kelly is set to make his first start at home since October while scrum half Ben Meyer is also given a starting berth; replacing Scotland duo Ross Ford and Mike Blair. Edinburgh Rugby Club squad to play Munster at Murrayfield (Friday 15 February, kick-off 7.30pm) 15 Hugo Southwell 14 Andrew Turnbull13 Ben Cairns12 John Houston11 Roland Reid_10 Phil Godman9 Ben Meyer_1 Augusto Allori2 Andrew Kelly3 Gavin Kerr4 Matt Mustchin5 Craig Hamilton6 Alan MacDonald7 Ross Rennie8 Allister Hogg (captain)_Substitutes: Craig Smith, Steve Lawrie, Fergus Pringle, Simon Cross, Greig Laidlaw, Nick De Luca, Calum MacRae.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners