Scotland Under-18 Training Squad Named

Scotland Under-18 Training Squad Named

 Scotland under-18 head coach, Grant McKelvey, today announced an initial training squad of 34 players ahead of the 2009 / 2010 season.The training squad was selected after a performance review of the players who spent a fortnight in Valladolid, Spain, on a strength, conditioning and rugby camp in July, and those invited to attend the national rugby camp at Struan, Perthshire in August.McKelvey, said: “After working with the players in Valladolid and Struan these sessions present an excellent opportunity for us to compare and contrast the players while measuring the development of those who have been in the under-17 programme. “For the majority this won’t present a new beginning in a new side. The sessions continue on from the work done in the under-17 sessions and the two camps – it’s a continuous development process rather than starting afresh.”There are, of course, many other opportunities for players to gain selection into this squad. The Performance Development team will be watching a lot of rugby in Scotland as well as travelling to and gaining recommendations from our counterparts in the Exiles Performance Programme in England.”Players will be continually assessed throughout the season before the final selection of the national under-18 Squad for the 6 Nations International Festival due to take place in Wales in April 2010.SCOTLAND U18 TRAINING SQUAD – SEPTEMBER SESSIONS 2009- FORWARDS -PropsRobin Hislop (Hawick Wanderers) **Gavin Robertson (Earlston High School /Melrose Wasps)Alex Allen (Sedbergh School) Struan Cessford (Dundee High Rugby) Jo Wasinski (Hampton School)Craig Davidson (Ayr)HookersJack McFarlane (Gourock High School / Greenock Wanderers) George Turner (Stewart’s Melville College) Ryan Hood (Strathallan)Fergus Scott (Currie)Second-rowsFraser Wem (Hampton School / London Wasps) Craig Ferguson (East Kilbride) George Barnes (Chesterfield)Back-rowMitch Eadie (Filton College)Malcolm Peacock (George Watson’s College) Andrew Nagle (Jed Thistle) Jamie Swanson (Glasgow Academy)*Adam de ste Croix (Firhill High School / Boroughmuir)Lawrie Seydak (Edinburgh Academy)- BACKS -Scrum-halvesMurray McConnell (Lenzie Academy / West of Scotland RFC)* Jonny Adams (Aberdeen Grammar) James Munro (Edinburgh Academy) Stand-offsFraser Gillies (Edinburgh Academy) Finn Russell (Stirling County)CentresJack Bradford (Worksop College) Michael Crawley (Stewart’s Melville College) Mark Bennett (Cumnock) *Stewart Hogg (Heriot’s) **Jack Ferguson (George Watson’s College)Back threeMurray Beckwith (Marr College)*Harris Jones (Merchiston Castle School)* Aiden McCall-Haden (St Aloysius College) Ross Inglis (Calderside Acadademy / Hamilton)Ben Francis (Epsom College) * Member of National Academy supported by AIS (Area Institute of Sport)** Member of National Academy supported by Scottish Rugby• The first two Scotland sessions will take place on Sunday 6 and Sunday 13 September.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners