Celtic Challenge

The Celtic Challenge tournament is a cross-border club competition organised by Scottish Rugby, the IRFU and WRU.

The competition provides a high-performance platform ahead of the Guinness Women’s Six Nations and aims to bridge the gap between the domestic and international women’s games in the three Celtic nations.

Scotland’s two teams are aligned to Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors.

  • Edinburgh Rugby

    The Edinburgh Rugby side features players drawn from domestic club – Women’s Premiership finalists Watsonian FC and Stirling County, Heriot’s Blues, Corstorphine Cougars, and the University of Edinburgh – and includes full Scotland internationalists Emma Orr and Sarah Denholm, as well as a number of Scotland Age-Grade internationals.


    Adelle Ferrie (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh)*
    Alex Stewart (Corstorphine Cougars)*
    Alison Wilson (Heriot’s Blues)
    Freya Walker (Watsonian FC)*
    Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars)*
    Lucy Kidd (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Millie Capaldi (Heriot’s Blues)
    Millie Whitehouse (University of Edinburgh)
    Molly Poolman (Watsonian FC)*
    Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh)*
    Poppy Fletcher (University of Edinburgh)*
    Rachel Cox (Stirling County)
    Sam Taganekurukuru (Stirling County)
    Sophie Murphy (Stirling County)*


    Ami Conchie (Watsonian FC)
    April McKenzie (unattached)*
    Briar McNamara (Watsonian FC)
    Cieron Bell (University of Edinburgh)*
    Emma Orr (Heriot’s Blues/ Biggar)*
    Giselle Chicot (Heriot’s Blues)
    Hannah Chrisp (Heriot’s Blues)
    Hannah Ramsay (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Hannah Walker (University of Edinburgh)*
    Mary Nelson (Watsonian FC)
    Nicole Flynn (University of Edinburgh)*
    Rachel Philipps (Watsonian FC)*
    Sarah Denholm (University of Edinburgh)*
    Zoe Turner (Corstorphine Cougars)

    *Scottish Rugby Regional Training Centre supported players


  • Glasgow Warriors

    In total, 10 clubs are represented by the 30 players selected by Head Coach Chris Laidlaw and his coaching team.

    Newly-crowned Premiership champions Stirling County are able to boast the highest number of players selected, with Ceitidh Ainsworth – scorer of two tries in the final victory over Watsonians – one of six standouts selected from the Bridgehaugh outfit.

    Watsonians themselves contribute four players to the squad including try-scoring back-rower Lucy Winter, whilst traditional Glasgow heavyweights Hillhead Jordanhill provide five players to the setup.


    Chloe Brown (Stirling County)
    Eilidh Fleming (Stirling County)*
    Kaylee Fraser (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Debbie Lee (Hillhead Jordanhill)
    Hannah McMahon (Edinburgh University)
    Ailie Tucker (Watsonian FC)


    Karis Craig (Watsonian FC)*
    Nikki Simpson (Garioch)*

    Second Rowers

    Holland Bogan (Stirling County)*
    Eve Thomson (Hillhead Jordanhill)*
    Ellie Williamson (West of Scotland)*

    Back Rowers

    Sophie Anderson (Watsonian FC)
    Megan Hyland (Garioch)*
    Alex Love (West of Scotland)
    Alison Orr (Biggar)
    Kirsty Ritchie (Biggar)*
    Emma Turner (Corstorphine Cougars)
    Lucy Winter (Watsonian FC)


    Rhea Clarke (Edinburgh University)*
    Rebekah Douglas (Corstorphine Cougars)*


    Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County)*
    Carla McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)*


    Pearl Kellie (Heriots)
    Lucy MacRae (Edinburgh University)*
    Claudia McClaren (Stirling County)

    Back Three

    Charlotte Burrows (Garioch)*
    Roma Fraser (Hillhead Jordanhill)*
    Sky Phimister (Stirling County)*
    Pheadra Snailham (Stewartry Sirens)
    Beth Tobin (Hillhead Jordanhill)

    *Scottish Rugby Regional Training Centre supported player.


  • Transitional Players

    11 Transitional Players were also named as available for selection to the competition.

    The players have been selected through the Scottish Qualified (SQ) Programme, led by Peter Walton and Rob Brieley. Additional players who have previously been involved with Scotland Women but currently live outside of Scotland are also included in the group.

    The programme is a player centred initiative designed to identify, develop and support Scottish Qualified players living outside of Scotland and provides appropriate support and opportunities to progress towards age-grade, professional and international rugby.

    Transitional Players available to the Celtic Challenge

    Izzy Hannay (Durham University & Harlequins)
    Gemma Bell (Hartpury University)
    Evie Addy (Hartpury University)
    Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Mett University)
    Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers)
    Izzy McQuire-Evans (Worcester University & Sale Sharks)
    Orla Proctor (Leicester Tigers & RAF)
    Nicola Haynes (Saracens)
    Demi Swann (Exeter Chiefs)
    Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)
    Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)

  • Fixtures

    Round 1 

    Edinburgh Rugby v Glasgow Warriors (Saturday 30 December, KO 12pm at Hive Stadium)

    Round 2 

    Edinburgh Rugby v Wolfhounds (Saturday 6 January, KO 2pm at Hive Stadium)
    Gwalia Lightning v Glasgow Warriors (Sunday 7 January, KO 1.30pm at Cardiff Arms Park) 

    Round 3 

    Glasgow Warriors v Wolfhounds (Saturday 13 January, KO 2pm at Scotstoun Stadium)
    Brython Thunder v Edinburgh Rugby (Sunday 14 January, KO 1.30pm at Parc Y Scarlets) 

    Round 4 

    Glasgow Warriors v Clovers (Saturday 27 January, KO 2pm at Scotstoun Stadium)
    Gwalia Lightning v Edinburgh Rugby (Sunday 28 January, KO 1.30pm at Cardiff Arms Park) 

    Round 5 

    Edinburgh Rugby v Clovers (Saturday 3 February, KO 12.30pm at Hive Stadium)
    Brython Thunder v Glasgow Warriors (Saturday 3 February, KO 2.30pm at Parc Erias) 

  • Tickets

    Tickets for Glasgow and Edinburgh home games can be purchased HERE

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners