Two changes for WXV 2 finale

Two changes for WXV 2 finale

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson has named a settled starting line-up to face Japan in the side’s final match of the inaugural WXV 2 competition (Friday 27 October, kick-off 1pm UK time / 2pm local time) – live on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport Scotland website.

Easson has made two alterations to the replacements, with Sarah Bonar and Coreen Grant returning from injury and looking to have their first involvement in the tournament.

Scotland recorded an impressive 14-24 bonus-point victory against USA last Friday, with the side going into this week’s contest with a chance to claim the title. Both Italy and Scotland have ten points each after the first two rounds, with Italy currently topping the table due to a points difference of seven after their 36-18 win against South Africa.

Ahead of the fixture, Easson said: “I’ve been impressed by Japan in the competition. Despite a tough start against Italy in the opening round but they had a really physical test against Samoa last week and they fronted up well.

“They provide a different threat to South Africa and USA as we are expecting them to attack with width and their kick attack has been impressive as well but we’ve prepared accordingly.

“It’s fantastic to have Sarah Bonar and Coreen Grant available for the match after unfortunately being ruled out of the first two games due to injury. Sarah was outstanding in our Autumn Test against Spain and Coreen can provide threats in attack and defence so it gives us options for this Friday.”

The front-row sees Lana Skeldon continue to pack down alongside an unchanged prop pairing of Leah Bartlett and Christine Belisle, with last week’s try-scorer Emma Wassell and Louise McMillan linking-up in the second row.

Captain Rachel Malcolm is selected at blindside flanker as Rachel McLachlan and last week’s player-of-the-match Evie Gallagher continue at openside flanker and number 8 respectively.

Mairi McDonald and Helen Nelson will pull the strings in their half-back partnership, with Lisa Thomson and Emma Orr are once again named at inside centre and outside centre respectively.

Last week’s try-scoring back three, Francesca McGhie, Rhona Lloyd and full-back Chloe Rollie retain their places from last Friday.

You can follow this Friday’s action live on BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport Scotland website. Updates will also be provided across Scottish Rugby’s social media channels.

Image credit: Neil Kennedy.

Scotland team to face Japan at Athlone Stadium, Cape Town (kick-off 1pm UK Time / 2pm local time) – live on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport Scotland website

15. Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning) – 60 caps

14. Rhona Lloyd (GB 7s / Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais) – 45 caps
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s/Biggar) – 13 caps
12. Lisa Thomson (GB 7s) – 54 caps
11. Francesca McGhie (Leicester Tigers) – 8 caps

10. Helen Nelson VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 54 caps
9. Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs) – 17 caps

1. Leah Bartlett (Leicester Tigers) – 29 caps
2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 65 caps
3. Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 29 caps
4.  Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 63 caps
5. Louise McMillan (Saracens) – 47 caps
6. Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 41 caps
7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 39 caps
8. Evie Gallagher (Worcester Warriors) – 21 caps

16. Elis Martin (Leicester Tigers) – 4 caps
17. Anne Young (Sale Sharks) – 9 caps
18. Lisa Cockburn (Worcester Warriors) – 27 caps
19. Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 35 caps
20. Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 61 caps
21. Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – 17 caps
22. Meryl Smith (Bristol Bears) – 12 caps
23. Coreen Grant (Saracens) – 6 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners