Celtic Challenge Round Three squad announcements

Celtic Challenge Round Three squad announcements

Chris Laidlaw and Claire Cruickshank have named their sides to face the Wolfhounds and Brython Thunder in Round 3 of the Celtic Challenge.

As Glasgow Warriors prepare for their first-ever home fixture, Laidlaw has made four alterations to the starting XV that will run out for tomorrow afternoon’s Celtic Challenge clash with the Wolfhounds.

The lineup includes a potential Glasgow Warriors debutant in the form of Phaedra Snailham, the Stewartry Siren set to run out for Laidlaw’s squad for the first time in front of the Warrior Nation.

Scotland internationalists Louise McMillan and Mairi McDonald are also named in the line-up, following agreement from their club sides Saracens and Exeter Chiefs.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Laidlaw told glasgowwarriors.org: “As a group, we’re excited about the opportunity to play our first ever home game at Scotstoun.

“We were happy with the progress last week in certain parts of our game; however, we know that will need to improve even more this week along with other parts of our game to be competitive against a strong and experienced Wolfhounds team who come off the back of two positive results.

“We’ve remained fairly consistent with selection this week, as we welcome back Louise McMillan to the team this week and also a well-earned debut for the Warriors for Phaedra Snailham.

“With this being the last game in this block, we are looking to continue our progress as a squad and take some momentum from this game into the rest of the competition.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Wolfhounds at Scotstoun, Saturday 13 January, kick-off 2.30pm. Tickets are still available at glasgowwarriors.org, and the game will be broadcast live through the BBC Sport website, BBC iPlayer and RugbyPass TV.

15. Carla McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)*
14. Sky Phimister (Stirling County)*
13. Claudia McLaren (Stirling County)
12. Lucy MacRae (Edinburgh University)*
11. Phaedra Snailham (Stewartry Sirens)
10. Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County)*
9. Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs)

1. Ailie Tucker (Watsonian FC)
2. Nikki Simpson (Garioch)*
3. Eilidh Fleming (Stirling County)*
4. Emma Turner CO-CAPTAIN (Corstorphine Cougars)
5. Ellie Williamson (West of Scotland)*
6. Louise McMillan (Saracens)
7. Lucy Winter (Watsonian FC)
8. Alex Love (West of Scotland)


16. Karis Craig (Watsonian FC)*
17. Kaylee Fraser (Corstorphine Cougars)
18. Chloe Brown (Stirling County)
19. Sophie Anderson (Watsonian FC)
20. Izzy Hannay (Durham University & Harlequins)**
21. Holland Bogan (Stirling County)*
22. Rhea Clarke CO-CPATAIN (Edinburgh University)*
23. Giselle Chicot (Heriot’s Blues)

Scotland internationalist Caity Mattinson is in line for her Edinburgh Rugby debut in Round 3 of the Celtic Challenge against Brython Thunder at Parc Y Scarlets this Sunday (14 January, kick-off 1.30pm).

Head Coach Claire Cruikshank has made five changes to the starting XV for the side’s first away trip, with Millie Whitehouse, Freya Walker and 18-year-old Nicole Flynn all making their first starts alongside debutant Mattinson.

Hooker Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh) and Sophie Murphy (Stirling County) could make their debut for Edinburgh from the bench.

Edinburgh are looking to bounce back after defeat against the Wolfhounds at Hive Stadium last weekend, currently sitting in fourth place in the league standings.

On the selection, Cruikshank said: “After two games at home we now have the chance for the team to have its first game on the road, for what will be a big challenge against the Thunder in Llanelli.

“It’s a pretty consistent team, with a number of key partnerships getting the chance to solidify, with the cohesion and understanding growing each game.

“It’s a good opportunity for Nicole Flynn, who impressed off the bench against the Wolfhounds last week. I’m also excited to see Caity Mattinson make her debut for Edinburgh at scrum-half.”

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Brython Thunder at Parc Y Scarlets (Sunday 14 January, kick-off 1.30pm) – Live on RugbyPass TV.

15. Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Met)**
14. Nicole Flynn (University of Edinburgh)*
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s Blues/Biggar RFC)*
12. Briar McNamara (Watsonian FC)
11. Cieron Bell (University of Edinburgh)*
10. Sarah Denholm (University of Edinburgh)*
9. Caity Mattinson (Gloucester-Hartpury)

1. Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)**
2. Millie Whitehouse (University of Edinburgh)
3. Molly Poolman (Watsonian FC)*
4. Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)**
5. Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh)*
6. Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars)
7. Alex Stewart (Corstorphine Cougars)*
8. Freya Walker (Watsonian FC)*


16. Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh)*
17. Poppy Fletcher (University of Edinburgh)*
18. Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars)*
19. Adelle Ferrie (Corstorphine Cougars)
20. Sophie Murphy (Stirling County)*
21. Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers)**
22. Hannah Ramsay (Corstorphine Cougars)
23. Rachel Philipps (Watsonian FC)*

*Scottish Rugby Regional Training Centre supported players
**Transitional SQ Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners