Club Dinner 2007 Awards

Club Dinner 2007 Awards

Ace reporter Gary Mr Rugby Heatly reports from a very successful Annual Club Dinner.Ace reporter Gary Mr Rugby Heatly reports from a very successful Annual Club Dinner. Heatly, an internationally renowned rugby writer, was deservingly awarded the I A L Hogg Trophy for the member who has done most for the Club. The website team and especially the Ed., would like to congratulate Gary in winning this award. Without further ado, here is Gary’s take on the evening: The club dinner held on Saturday night was a huge success. Congratulations to Club Captain Rob Calder, President Morris Duncan and all who helped organise such a great night in the clubhouse despite the late change of date. ‘The Hot Knife’ Calder announced that he was now stepping down from the position he has held so well for two years. On behalf of everyone at the club can I just say a big thanks to Rob for all he has done during his tenure. Stepping into the breach for season 2007/08 is James ‘Bad Boy’ McAinsh and he can be assured that he will be given all the help he needs from others to continue putting on successful events at the club. Below is a list of the prize winners from the night. Laura Macdonald was also named supporter of the year after she attended all 23 first team games during the campaign while Gavin Brown was presented with an autographed strip as he signed off from his career at the club which has spanned over 10 years. More in depth detail on all the prize winners will appear on this site in due course. The Fleming Trophy for the most improved young player (under 21) from any team during the season – Nick Hart The McNish Trophy for effort, attitude and ability – Doug Brown The Carmichael Trophy for the player who has recorded the highest number of tries for the 1st XV during the season – Andrew Skeen The I A L Hogg Trophy to the member who has done most for the Club during the season – Gary Heatly The Alastair Nimmo Trophy to the best former pupil of GWC playing at Watsonians – Jeff Nicolson First XV Player of the Year – Will Rowley Second XV Player of the Year – Robbie Buchanan Third XV Player of the Year – Rob Tweedie 4th XV Player of the Year – Martin Macari Ladies Player of the Year – Joyce Shute

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners