Evans Brothers To Play Together For Scotland For First Time

Evans Brothers To Play Together For Scotland For First Time

Scotland’s team for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations Championship match against France in Paris shows five changes from that which lost to Wales last weekend.Brothers Max and Thom Evans replace Ben Cairns and Sean Lamont in the backs, where Simon Danielli returns to win his 17th cap instead of the injured Simon Webster.Up front Alasdair Dickinson will make his first Six Nations start in place of the injured Geoff Cross at tight-head prop and his Gloucester team-mate Alasdair Strokosch is preferred to Allister Hogg at blindside flanker.The Evans brothers are the 45th set of brothers to win Scotland caps and will become the 20th set to play together when they take to the field at the Stade de France.On the bench, Moray Low, the 24-year-old Glasgow Warriors prop, is included in a Scotland 22 for the first time.Scotland coach Frank Hadden said: “We all know that the supporters demand and deserve better than the performance against Wales and they are determined to do that against France. “I’m happy with the quality of the side who are very aware of the need to perform better given the tough challenge that’s facing us on Saturday.”Scotland team (sponsor Murray) to play France in the RBS 6 Nations Championship Saturday 14 February at the Stade de France, Paris, kick-off 3pm GMT15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh) 14 Simon Danielli (Ulster)13 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)11 Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors)10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh) CAPTAIN 1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)3 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester)4 Jason White (Sale Sharks)5 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester)8 Simon Taylor (Stade Francais)7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors) Substitutes 16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)17 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)18 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)19 Scott Gray (Northampton Saints)20 Chris Cusiter (Perpignan)21 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh)22 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh) Travelling with the party: 23 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) and 24 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)Not considered due to injury: Dave Callam (Edinburgh), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Nathan Hines (Perpignan), Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks), Matt Mustchin (Edinburgh), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Simon Webster (Edinburgh) Officials Referee: George Clancy (Ireland) Touch-judges: Wayne Barnes (England) and Tim Hayes (Wales)TMO: Guilio de Santis (Italy)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners