Commentators Team of the Championship | FOSROC Super Series 2023

Commentators Team of the Championship | FOSROC Super Series 2023

Every game in the FOSROC Super Series Championship had commentary for either live broadcast or for our weekly highlights package. As such, we called upon those who had commentated on games across the Championship to give us a Commentators' Team of the Championship.

Each of the commentators were allocated certain positions and here’s who they’ve nominated as the best of the best in this year’s FOSROC Super Series Championship:

1 – Andrew Nimmo (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Hugh Dan MacLennan who said: “Andrew just edged out a few others in a very competitive field with some very fine early season performances swinging the selection for him.”

2 – Gregor Hiddleston (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Lee Jones who said: “Hiddleston gave Stirling Wolves a dynamic point of difference as a hooker in the loose alongside his strong set-piece work. An outstanding Player of the Match performance in the Final inspired his team to the title whilst contributing 9 tries across the season.” Hugh Dan MacLennan agreed as he commented that Hiddleston “Capped an outstanding season with a brilliant performance in the FOSROC Super Series Championship Final when Stirling Wolves peaked at exactly the right time. He has a brilliant future ahead of him as the classic modern hooker.”

3 – Martin McGinley (Boroughmuir Bears)

Nominated by Hugh Dan MacLennan who commented: “Martin had an outstanding season playing in every match and making his mark with consistency and a high standard of performance. He has all the attributes to see him home in another very competitive area.”

4 – Luis Ball (Watsonians)

Nominated by Lee Jones who said: “Epitomises the strength of the Watsonians defence, a real talisman. Provided huge work rate both sides of the ball and consistently the first man off the defensive line to make the big hits for his team.” A sentiment echoed by Dale Clancy who said: “Luis was a constant figure in a Watsonians side, the Myreside outfit have a physical and combative approach to their games and Ball sets the tone with impressive defensive work rate. His dominate tackles are complemented by discrete stooping efforts and his decision-making in that area of the game is amongst some of the best in the Championship.”

5 – Rory Jackson (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Hugh Dan MacLennan who said: “Rory’s dynamism and all-round excellence was a driving force in the team and never let their forward effort down.”

6 – Freddie Douglas (FOSROC Future XV)

Nominated by Andrew Petrie who said: “Despite the heavy scoreline the FOSROC Futures were occasionally on the receiving end of, the flanker never looked uncomfortable at this level. Consistently punched above his weight and looks a real prospect for the future, along with some of his back-row colleagues.”

7 – Connor Gordon (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Dale Clancy who said: “An absentee throughout stages of the Championship, but made his presence felt when it came to knock-out rugby. Formed a fruitful partnership with Hadsell, and Gordon, as always was excellent on both sides of the ball. Physical in the Championship Final at Hive Stadium and tireless in the semi-final at Hawthornden, and perhaps on both occasions was the difference in the key areas.” Gordon was also recognized by Andrew Petrie who said Gordon was “Instrumental in their successful Championship bid, he – along with several other Wolves players – was there through the dark times and has helped lift them to the light.”

8 – Blair Macpherson (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Paul Mitchell who said: “Macpherson embodies the role of a leader and is one of only three players to feature in all of the Bulls Championship Finals.” This was echoed by Dale Clancy who called him: “A valuable member of the Ayrshire Bulls pack and has been since the birth of semi-professional rugby in Scotland. Another Championship and another high-scoring return for the marauding number 8. Leads by example with physical carries and discrete communication with the match officials.” Heather Lockhart also commented: “He hasn’t missed a game for the Bulls since the FOSROC Super Series started and scored an outstanding 11 tries this Championship.”

9 – Ben Afshar (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Paul Mitchell who said: “Playing for his third Super Series side, he was a force in Wolves run up to the Championship Final and in the Final itself. At 20, he has great potential and should get a chance with the Glasgow Warriors before long.” Chris Paterson also commended Ben for his “Decision making, running and kicking threat which are all really impressive.”

10 – Craig Jackson (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Heather Lockhart who called him: “An astute rugby player with an instinct for excellent decision making. Lynchpin for the Stirling Wolves attack with Marcus Holden the highest points scorer outside him at 12.” Dale Clancy agreed saying: “His kicking ability and pass selection in the final two games were a huge part of the success for the Bridgehaugh side, and his partnership with Holden was an immensely positive one. The 8, 9, and 10 spine is a crucial one, and in this Jackson was instrumental.”

11 – Luca Bardelli (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “Luca is a brilliant runner and plays way above his weight”, as demonstrated throughout his Championship performance starting for 13 games for the Millbrae outfit.

12 – Bobbie Beattie (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “He has a massive impact in every game as he is so experienced”, Bobbie has played for Ayrshire Bulls in every FOSROC Super Series Championship Final since 2021.

13 – Matt Davidson (Heriot’s Rugby)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “Matt had some huge impactful moments in attack for Heriot’s across the Championship”, scoring nine tries for the Edinburgh side throughout his 12 appearances for the team, including a hat-trick during the Round 6 match against Watsonians.

14 – Ross McKnight (Stirling Wolves)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “Ross was the top try scorer of the Championship with 15 tries to his name and he is an attacking threat every time he is on the ball.”

15 – Ollie Horne (Ayrshire Bulls)

Nominated by Chris Paterson who said: “Ollie is a quality all round player. He is a good kicker, runner and had great game sense and knowledge.”

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners