Report: France U18 v Scotland U18

Report: France U18 v Scotland U18

Scotland U18 Men lost out 50-7 to France U18 Men at Energia Park, Dublin in the second game of their U18 Six Nations Festival.

France got the scoring underway in just under two minutes, when a break up the right was finished by Ugo Pacome who cut in and dived under the posts.

In the seventh minute a driving maul from France went to ground just short, and the referee deemed in had been taken down by Scotland and gave the penalty try.

And France got a third try in the 13th minute as the ball was worked out wide left to Johan Wasserman, who just got the ball down as the young Scots attempted to hold him up.

The fourth came two minutes later, as the break came down the right and Elyjah Ibsaiene sprinted home from distance.

It was Scotland who had the better of possession for the next 15 minutes, and with just under four minutes until the interval, a driving maul on the right after a kick to the corner reached the try line, with Seb Stephen grounding the ball.

But France hit straight back from the kick off, as Kalvin Gourgues collected a chip ahead and scored just right of the posts.

Half time: France U18 33-7 Scotland U18

Just after half time, Gourgues scored his second try out on the right side following a first phase move from a lineout from the French backs.

Wasserman scored his second in the 44th minute, receiving a long pass on the left wing and sprinting for the line.

And in the 61st minute, Wasserman cut through again and Xan Mousques finished off in the right corner to round off the scoring.

Full time: France U18 50-7 Scotland U18

Scotland U18: 15. Jack Brown CAPTAIN (George Watson’s College) 14. Sam Leweni (Queen Victoria School) 13. Johnny Ventisei (St Aloysius/GHA RFC) 12. Jack Hocking (Edinburgh Rugby) 11. Fergus Watson (Biggar RFC) 10. Isaac Coates (Merchiston Castle) 9. Hector Patterson (Hawick RFC) 1. Keita Ando (SC Frankfurt 1880/Sedbergh) 2. Seb Stephen (Glenalmond College/Aberdeen Grammar RFC) 3. Ollie Blyth-Lafferty (Boroughmuir RFC) 4. Bart Godsell (Gloucester Academy/Marling) 5. Charlie Moss (Marlow Rugby/Shiplake College/Wasps) 6. Nick Torkington (Stirling County RFC) 7. Freddy Douglas (Stewart’s Melville College) 8. Ollie Duncan (Edinburgh Academy)

Replacements: 16. Oliver McKenna (St Aloysius) 17. Finlay Mcintosh (George Watson’s College) 18. Ben White (Peebles RFC) 19. Fraser Wilson (Gala RFC) 20. Finn Spurway (Glenalmond College) 21. Fergus Wood (George Heriot’s School) 22. Hugo Alderson (Stewart’s Melville College) 23. Matthew Urwin (St Aloysius) 24. Lloyd McEwan-Peters (Yorkshire Academy/Wellington College) 25. Thomas Russell (Stewart’s Melville College) 26. Samuel Rockley (London Irish/Bishop Wand/London Irish Academy)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners