Four Uncapped Warriors In Scotland Squad

Four Uncapped Warriors In Scotland Squad

After only two competitive games for Glasgow, Mark McMillan has been handed a place in the Scotland training squadUncapped Warriors Max Evans, Mark McMillan, Moray Low and Dan Turner have all been named in Frank Hadden’s squad of 50 who will begin Scotland’s preparations for the busy autumn programme with a training session at Murrayfield next Monday.The uncapped quartet will be joined by ten other Glasgow team-mates – Thom Evans, Andrew Henderson, Graeme Morrison, Dan Parks, John Barclay, Johnnie Beattie, Kelly Brown, Dougie Hall, Alastair Kellock and Fergus Thomson.As part of the group of uncapped players, centre Max Evans was part of the national squad’s summer tour to Argentina (though had no game time) and prop Moray Low missed out on that tour through injury whilst scrum-half Mark McMillan and lock Dan Turner were part of the Scotland A squad that reached the final of the Barclays Churchill Cup in North America.Elsewhere, former Glasgow wing Sean Lamont returns to the squad after missing the entire 2008 RBS 6 Nations Championship with a knee injury. Lamont has already returned to action for his club, Northampton Saints, scoring a try against Newcastle Falcons at the weekend. Hadden said: ‘the purpose of this squad session is really two-fold; firstly to debrief following the Argentina tour; and secondly for the players to be introduced to our two new assistant coaches, Mike Brewer and Graham Steadman, ahead of our assembly for the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Tests in November.Scotland won the second Test against Argentina in Buenos Aires – their first Test match triumph in South America – and will be looking to take that form and confidence into the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Tests: v New Zealand at Murrayfield on Saturday 8 November; v South Africa at Murrayfield on Saturday 15 November; and v Canada at Pittodrie on Saturday 22 November.Scotland squad for training at Murrayfield on Monday 22 September…Backs: Mike Blair, Ben Cairns (both Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Perpignan), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Rob Dewey (Ulster), Max Evans, Thom Evans (both Glasgow Warriors), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Warriors), Stephen Jones (Newcastle Falcons), Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks), Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Calum MacRae (Edinburgh), Mark McMillan, Graeme Morrison, Dan Parks (all Glasgow Warriors), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Gordon Ross (Saracens), Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh), Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Simon Webster (Edinburgh)Forwards: John Barclay, Johnnie Beattie, Kelly Brown (all Glasgow Warriors), Dave Callam, Geoff Cross (both Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors), Craig Hamilton, Jim Hamilton (both Edinburgh), Nathan Hines (Perpignan), Allister Hogg, Allan Jacobsen (both Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Gavin Kerr (Edinburgh), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Scott MacLeod (Scarlets), Euan Murray (Northampton Saints), Scott Murray (Montauban), Matt Mustchin, Ross Rennie (both Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Simon Taylor (Stade Francais), Fergus Thomson, Dan Turner (both Glasgow Warriors), Jason White (Sale Sharks)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners