Gilchrist to lead Scotland in first Test against Argentina

Gilchrist to lead Scotland in first Test against Argentina

Grant Gilchrist will captain Scotland for the first time since 2018 this Saturday when he leads Scotland out in Jujuy for the first match of the Test series against Argentina. The game will be live on Sky Sports, kick-off 8.10pm.

The occasion will mark an already memorable year in the dark blue jersey for Gilchrist having made his 50th Scotland appearance in February against Wales. He will start the match alongside Jonny Gray in the second row.

In the back row, Luke Crosbie is named following his stint as captain of Scotland A against Chile last weekend. It will be Crosbie’s first international start having already made his debut off the bench against Tonga last year.

He will start alongside fellow Edinburgh Rugby flanker Magnus Bradbury. Glasgow Warriors’ back-rower Matt Fagerson will once again start at number eight.

Pierre Schoeman was named on the bench against Chile and he has been promoted to the starting line-up alongside Warriors’ prop Zander Fagerson. George Turner will also start the game having arrived in South America a little later than the full squad, having recovered from illness.

Ali Price and Blair Kinghorn will start as the 9 and 10 pairing for the second consecutive occasion having played together against Ireland at the Aviva Stadium in March. Ali Price will assist Grant Gilchrist as Vice-Captain.

Duhan van der Merwe missed the last two games of the Guinness Six Nations through a suspension and he makes his return to the starting line-up. In his last Scotland appearance he scored a try against France at BT Murrayfield. Darcy Graham will occupy the other flank.

Mark Bennett will start his first Scotland game since 2016 when he played against Georgia at Rugby Park, Kilmarnock. His inclusion tops off an impressive last month where he was named as Edinburgh Rugby’s Player of the Season. He will partner Glasgow Warriors centre Sam Johnson.

At full-back Rory Hutchison will start the game with his last appearance coming in 2020 when he came off the bench against Italy. The versatile back has been in top form for Northampton Saints this season.

On the bench, Sale Sharks’ hooker Ewan Ashman will aim to make his first Scotland appearance since the 2021 Autumn Tests where he scored a memorable winning try against Australia at BT Murrayfield.

After missing the majority of the Six Nations, picking up an injury against England, British & Irish Lion, Rory Sutherland is also named on the bench.

Back-rower Rory Darge will also make his long-awaited return from injury after being named as Glasgow Warriors Player of the Season last month.

London Irish scrum-half Ben White is included as replacement scrum-half, with fellow half-back Ross Thompson also named on the bench. Sam Skinner, who joins Edinburgh Rugby for the new season, is also selected as a replacement alongside Javan Sebastian and Sione Tuipulotu – who both featured in the Scotland A match against Chile.

Not included in the matchday 23 are Damien Hoyland, Ben Muncaster, Matt Currie, Jamie Hodgson and Johnny Matthews who have returned to Scotland following their involvement in the Scotland A match against Chile last weekend.

Scotland team to face Argentina at the Estadio 23 de Agosto, Jujuy, live on Sky Sports, Saturday 2 July – kick-off 8.10pm BST.

15. Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints – 5 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps
13. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 24 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 24 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
10. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 31 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – (Vice-Captain) – 51 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 9 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 25 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 47 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Captain) – 53 caps
5. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 67 caps
6. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 18 caps
7. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps


16. Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – 2 caps
17. Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 18 caps
18. Javan Sebastian – Scarlets – 1 cap
19. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 20 caps
20. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – 4 caps
21. Ben White – London Irish – 4 caps
22. Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
23. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 5 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners