Inter-District Championship: The South in trophy driver’s seat

Inter-District Championship: The South in trophy driver’s seat

There will be more than just the Inter-District Championship (IDC) title at stake when the South travels to Inverness tomorrow to take on Caledonia Reds.

Table-topping, and as yet undefeated, South will also be on the hunt for the Nairn MacEwan Cup. The cup was created this year by the two clubs in commemoration of the great Scottish loose forward who represented both the South and Caledonia.

Members of Nairn’s family are set to be there to present the trophy to the winning side, as will legendary Highland and North & Midlands coach Colin Baillie MBE. It will certainly add more heat to an already boiling encounter tomorrow.

But the IDC is far from decided. Any one of the South, Glasgow & the West, or Edinburgh are mathematically in with a chance of taking home the championship trophy. And with all matches up until this point decided by a margin of less than a try, anything is possible.

The South head coach Matty Douglas has had his hand forced into making some personnel changes, but has also taken the opportunity to align his team better to the expected Inverness conditions.

“Our players are excited by the challenge that lies ahead for them this weekend. Given how close the games have been, and that Caledonia have been on the road both weekends so far, we know and hugely respect the quality of the opponent we face. We are expecting a fast open game on the Canal Park surface.

“It should be a great game for the spectators. We will be throwing all we have into this game and looking to enjoy being part of a great spectacle,” he said.

Douglas’ opposing number, Caledonia Reds head coach Colin Sangster will be looking to spoil the South’s party and in turn secure their maiden win of the competition.

“We go into our final game in this year’s championship against the South desperate to get a win. Having lost both our games by one score, we feel we are not far away, and certainly last week we had an agonising last nine minutes, with a player off the field and a team of tiring players.

“The game against the South will be tough… and they will be desperate to get a win and with it the championship, so I expect a very competitive game,” Sangster said.

Glasgow & the West hosts Edinburgh at Braidholm on the other side of the draw where a bonus point win for either side would heap pressure on the South to do the same in Inverness.

Glasgow head coach Kenny Diffenthal said both sides have everything to play for and asked Glasgow’s supporters to turn out in droves to help their team get over the line.

“After last week’s disappointment we have reflected on what we need to work on as we prepare for our next challenge. We know Edinburgh will gives us a real test.

“They have been freely scoring tries so we need to be at our best in defence while also taking any and all attacking chances we can create,” Diffenthal said.



Saturday 6 April
Caledonia Reds v The South
Canal Park, Inverness, 3PM KO

Saturday 6 April
Glasgow & The West v Edinburgh
Braidholm, Glasgow, 3PM KO



Glasgow & The West

15. James Couper
14. Scott Bickerstaff
13. Charlie Lonergan
12. Connor Bickerstaff (Captain)
11. Tom Lanni
10. Colin Sturgeon
9. Grant Baird

1. Brandon Sweet
2. Paul Cairncross
3. Michael Fox
4. David Andrew
5. Max Crumlish
6. Lewis Stewart
7. Mark Mccornick
8. Blair Jardine


16. Tom Martin
17. Ali Rogers
18. Alex Apthorpe
19. Ruairidh Airlie
20. Luke Mccutcheon
21. Robbie Baird
22. Andrew Goudie
23. Max Mcfarlane


Caledonia Reds

15. Connor Faulds, Falkirk
14. Adriu Muritoki, Highland
13. Max Wallace, Edinburgh Accies / Deeside
12. DJ Innes, Currie Chieftains / Grangemouth
11. Magnus Henry, Highland
10. Callum Beckett, Currie Chieftains / Stirling County
9. Harry Russell (Captain), Falkirk

1. Stephen Murray, Highland
2. Scott Rendall, Orkney
3. Struan Cessford (vc), Heriots / Dundee
4. Connor MacFarlane, Aberdeenshire / Grangemouth
5. Malachy Keough, Heriots / High School of Dundee
6. Rory Brown, Kirkcaldy
7. Andrew Steven, Watsonians / Howe of Fife
8. Alistair Johnstone, Heriots / Dollar Academy


16. Bryce Robertson, Watsonians / Stirling County
17. Glen Brough, Gala / Orkney
18. Ross Brown, Musselburgh / Ellon
19. Struan Robertson, Gordonians
20. Calum Macpherson, Highland
21. James Imrie, Glasgow Hawks / Stirling County
22. Finlay Smith, Kirkcaldy
23. Murray Mitchell, Strathmore



15. Charlie Brett (Captain)
14. Robbie Kent
13. Rory Watt
12. Neil Armstrong
11. Ryan Daley
10. Danny Owenson
9. Cameron Lesselles

1. Ross Dunbar
2. Ryan Stewart
3. Calum Crookshanks
4. Jake Mills
5. Michael Badenhorst
6. Reece Davies
7. Rory Kirkpatrick
8. Stu Allison


16. Rory Jackson
17. Cole Imrie
18. Graham Carson
19. Struan Whittaker
20. Ali Bain
21. Scott Clark
22. Paul Cunningham
23. Rory Hindhaugh


The South

15. Kirk Ford, Hawick
14. Josh Welsh, Selkirk
13. Donald Crawford, Melrose
12. Frankie Robson, Kelso
11. Callum Anderson, Selkirk
10. Aaron McColm (vc), Selkirk
9. Douglas Crawford, Melrose

1. Shawn Muir (Captain), Hawick
2. Fraser Renwick, Hawick
3. Nicky Little, Hawick
4. Connor Sutherland, Hawick
5. Keith Melbourne, Kelso
6. Bruce McNeil, Kelso
7. Callum Renwick, Hawick
8. Jae Linton, Hawick


16. Russell Anderson, Hawick
17. Grant Shiells, Kelso
18. Terry Logan, Kelso
19. Angus Dun, Gala
20. Craig Keddie, Gala
21. Andy Tait, Kelso
22. Struan Hutchison, Melrose
23. Dwain Patterson, Kelso

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners