Kinghorn and Gray selected for final match of the championship

Kinghorn and Gray selected for final match of the championship

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has made two changes to the starting line-up for Scotland's final match of the 2022 Guinness Six Nations, with Blair Kinghorn and Jonny Gray selected to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium this Saturday 19 March - kick-off 4.45pm.

Edinburgh Rugby stand-off Kinghorn is rewarded for some impressive performances, including his starring role in the recent United Rugby Championship victory against Connacht two weeks ago, and will partner Ali Price, who won a 50th cap in the win over Italy last weekend.

Exeter Chiefs second row Gray has also returned to the starting XV having been ruled out of Scotland’s last two matches through injury.

Stuart Hogg once again captains the team from full-back with Edinburgh’s Darcy Graham on one wing and Glasgow Warriors’ Kyle Steyn selected on the other, following his starting role against Italy.

In the centre, Gloucester Rugby’s Chris Harris and Glasgow Warriors’ Sam Johnson start alongside each other for the third match this championship.

In the front-row, Edinburgh Rugby’s Pierre Schoeman is named along with Glasgow Warriors’ George Turner and Zander Fagerson. Vice-captain Grant Gilchrist will partner Jonny Gray.

Edinburgh’s Hamish Watson will edge one more cap closer to reaching 50 appearances and alongside him in the back-row will be Glasgow Warriors’ duo Rory Darge and Matt Fagerson who have both been lauded for stand-out performances so far in the championship.

In the replacements, Fraser Brown is named and will be aiming to add to his 54 caps, alongside fellow front row operators Allan Dell and WP Nel. Sam Skinner is also listed, while Bath Rugby’s Josh Bayliss has been chosen for the first time in this year’s Guinness Six Nations after making his debut against Australia in the 2021 Autumn Nations Series. London Irish’s Ben White makes his return to the squad after not being involved last week and Edinburgh Rugby’s Mark Bennett is selected as a replacement alongside Finn Russell of Racing 92.

Scotland team to face Ireland in the 2022 Guinness Six Nations at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin, live on ITV, Saturday, 19 March – kick-off 4.45pm.

15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – (Captain) – 92 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 26 caps
13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 35 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 23 caps
11. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 4 caps
10. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 30 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 50 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 8 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 24 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 46 caps
4. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 66 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 52 caps
6. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – 3 caps
7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 48 caps
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 20 caps


16. Fraser Brown – Glasgow Warriors – 54 caps
17. Allan Dell – London Irish – 33 caps
18. WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby – 47 caps
19. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 19 caps
20. Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby – 2 caps
21. Ben White – London Irish – 3 caps
22. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – 62 caps
23. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 23 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners