Opening rounds of Men’s Cup competitions for 2023/24 season confirmed

Opening rounds of Men’s Cup competitions for 2023/24 season confirmed

Scottish Rugby has today announced the draws for the opening rounds of the Men’s Cup competitions which will commence in 2024.

The final for the Scottish Cup, Men’s National Shield and Men’s Bowl will continue to be contested for at Silver Saturday, Scottish Rugby’s flagship finals event for the adult game.

Silver Saturday will take place across the Scottish Gas Murrayfield Campus on Saturday 27 April 2024.

The details for the final of the Men’s National League Cup will be confirmed at a later date.

The opening Round of each competition can be viewed, HERE.

Scottish Cup

This year, the Scottish Cup competition will involve 14 teams from top two club leagues – Premiership and National Division 1 – with two teams given a first-round bye in order to create a eight-team second-round which is to be played on Saturday 16 March.

With clubs given the opportunity for voluntary withdrawal from their respective competitions, Borders sides Jed-Forest, Kelso, Selkirk, Gala, and Melrose have withdrawn to give focus to their Border League fixtures. Glasgow-based GHK have also opted to withdraw.

The semi-finals will be played on Saturday 13 April.

Round 1: 9 March 2024

Glasgow Academicals v Hawick
Currie Chieftains v Ayr
Edinburgh Academical v Glasgow Hawks
Musselburgh v GHA
Watsonians v Highland
Biggar v Marr

Byes: Dundee Rugby & Heriot’s Blues

Round 2: 16 March 2024

Edinburgh Academical or Glasgow Hawks v Heriot’s Blues
Dundee Rugby v Glasgow Academicals or Hawick
Biggar or Marr v Watsonians v Highland
Musselburgh or GHA v Currie Chieftains or Ayr

Men’s National League Cup

Last season teams from National League Divisions 2 and 3 were given the choice to run the National League Cup, opting to focus on the completion of their regular league programme, however this year the competition makes its return.

This expansive competition sees 26 clubs set to take part, with 20 teams playing in the first Round and the remaining granted a bye.

Peebles, Greenock Wanderers, Perthshire and Ross High have all voluntarily opted out of the competition.

Quarter-finals will be played out on Saturday 6 April followed by semi-finals on Saturday 20 April.

Round 1: 9 March 2024

Howe of Fife v Hillhead Jordanhill
Gordonians v Strathmore
Dumfries Saints v Berwick
Garnock v Kirkcaldy
Stewartry v Falkirk
Stirling County v Hamilton Bulls
Whitecraigs v Preston Lodge
West of Scotland v Allan Glens
Orkney v Aberdeen Grammar Rugby
Cartha QP v Murrayfield Wanderers

Byes: Boroughmuir, Dunfermline, Lasswade, Newton Stewart, North Berwick, Stewart’s Melville

Round 2: 16 March 2024

Cartha Queens Park or Murrayfield Wanderers v Whitecraigs or Preston Lodge
Boroughmuir v Dumfries Saints or Berwick
Newton Stewart v Stewarts Melville
Stewartry or Falkirk v Gordonians or Strathmore
Dunfermline v Stirling County or Hamilton Bulls
West of Scotland or Allan Glens v North Berwick
Garnock or Kirkcaldy v Howe of Fife or Hillhead Jordanhill
Lasswade v Orkney or Aberdeen Grammar Rugby

Men’s National Shield

A grand-total of 47 teams playing across Regional Division 1 Leagues have opted into participating in the National Shield competition this season, with Clydebank being the only club to voluntarily opt out.

In a slight change to last season, this year the first three rounds drawn are restricted within the regions, with the draw opening out Nationally from the quarter-finals.

Whilst 17 teams have been granted a bye in round one, 32 teams will be in action on Saturday 27 January.

Round 3 will take place on Saturday 2 March, quarter-finals on Saturday 23 March, semi-finals on Saturday 13 April.

Round 1: 27 January 2024

RAF Lossiemouth v Kinross
Aberdeen Wanderers v Moray
Grangemouth Stags v Mackie FP
Hillfoots v Panmure
Corstorphine v Penicuik
Broughton v Royal High
Leith v Dalkeith
Hawick Linden v Duns
Oban Lorne v Carrick
Kilmarnock v East Kilbride
Strathendrick v Lomond & Helensburgh
Paisley v Dalziel
Ardrossan Academicals v Bishopton
Wigtownshire v Strathaven
Waysiders Drumpellier v Cumnock

Byes: Aberdeenshire, Caithness, Carnoustie HSFP, Ellon, Dunbar, Forrester, Haddington, Hawick Harlequins, Langholm, Linlithgow, Livingston, Portobello, Annan, Cambuslang, Cumbernauld, Lenzie & Uddingston

Round 2: 17 February 2024

Caithness v Ellon
RAF Lossiemouth or Kinross v Grangemouth Stags or Mackie FP
Aberdeen Wanderers or Moray v Aberdeenshire
Carnoustie HSFP v Hillfoots or Panmure
Livingston v Corstorphine or Penicuik
Hawick Linden or Duns v Langholm
Linlithgow v Forrester
Leith or Dalkeith v Broughton or Royal High
Portobello FP v Dunbar
Hawick Harlequins v Haddington
Waysiders Drumpellier or Cumnock v Annan
Uddingston v Strathendrick or Lomond & Helensburgh
Kilmarnock or East Kilbride v Lenzie
Ardrossan Academicals or Bishopton v Cumbernauld
Wigtownshire or Strathaven v Oban Lorne or Carrick
Paisley or Dalziel v Cambuslang

Men’s National & Regional Bowl

Once again, four Regional Bowl competitions will take place – East, West, Caledonia North and Caledonia Midlands – and are comprised of teams from Regional Division leagues 2 and 3.

The winners of each Regional Bowl competition will then progress to the National semi-final on Saturday 13 April, with the winners reaching the National Bowl final at Silver Saturday.

East Regional Bowl

East Semi-finals will take place on Saturday 17 February and the Final will be scheduled for Saturday 2 March.

Round 1: 27 January 2024

Edinburgh Northern v Inverleith
Edinburgh University Medics v Earlston
Trinity Accies v Lismore

Bye: Gala YM

East Regional Bowl Semi-finals

Gala YM v Edinburgh Northern or Inverleith
Edinburgh University Medics or Earlston v Trinity Accies v Lismore

West Regional Bowl

West Regional Semi-final have been scheduled for Saturday 2 March, and the Final on 9 March.

Round 1: 27 January 2024

Moffat v Irvine
Lochaber v Shawlands

Bye: Birkmyre, Glasgow University Medics, Isle of Mull, Hyndland, Lanark & Clydesdale

Quarter-finals: 17 February 2024

Birkmyre v Mid Argyll
Lochaber or Shawlands v Isle of Mull
Glasgow University Medics v Hyndland
Moffat or Irvine v Lanark & Clydesdale

Caledonia Midlands Regional Bowl

Following the open round, teams will progress to a quarter-final scheduled for Saturday 2 March.

Round 1: 17 February 2024

Waid Academy FP v Bannockburn
Madras v Blairgowrie

Byes: Aberfeldy, Alloa, Crieff & Strathearn, Dundee Uni Medics, Glenrothes & Rosyth Sharks

Caledonia North Regional Bowl

Following the open round, teams will progress to a quarter-final scheduled for Saturday 2 March.

Round 1: 17 February 2024

Deeside v North Police Scotland
Banff v Ross Sutherland
Aberdeen Uni Medics v Kinloss Eagles
Fraserburgh v Skye

Byes: Garioch, Inverness Craig Dunain, Shetland & Turriff

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners