Pro Boost To Scotland’S Club Game

Pro Boost To Scotland’S Club Game

All of the 74 professional players with Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh Rugby have been drafted to clubs in Scottish Hydro Premier One  Based on their 2008/2009 league position, each club was given the opportunity to select one of the 74 professionals from the draft, with Stewart’s-Melville FP and Dundee HSFP getting first and second pick having been promoted from Scottish Hydro Premier 2 as runners-up and winners. Following the draft, and under the protocol that governs the process, the Scottish Hydro Premier One clubs are then given a window in which to trade the drafted players if they wish.Colin Thomson, Scottish Rugby Head of Community Rugby, said: “Scottish Rugby has worked hard in tandem with its professional teams to strengthen the links with clubs and will continue to cement the improving relationship between the professional and club games with pro-player visits to all clubs increasing every year.”Part of this is about creating a dynamic and exciting draft process where we ensure that every professional player in Scotland is linked to a Scottish Hydro Premier One club to ensure that, if necessary, professional players can have a playing outlet in the club game. “Clearly, not all of these players will play for that club during a season, but anything that gives professional players the opportunity to play and share their experiences with some of the best players in top-tier club rugby is to be welcomed.”Dundee High Rugby Head Coach, Ian Rankin, agreed: “The integration of the pro and club game is very important to the future of Scottish rugby.”The attachment of pro players to clubs – be it in a playing, coaching or mentoring capacity – is a huge boost to club players and, hopefully, through this continually improved working relationship we’ll see more of them and club followers turning out to support pro games.”Scottish Hydro Premier One pro-player draft (in order of draft and selection)1. Stewart’s-Melville FP – Ryan Grant (Edinburgh Rugby), Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh Rugby), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), Calum Forrester (Glasgow Warriors), Kevin Tkachuk (Glasgow Warriors), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh Rugby)2. Dundee High Rugby – Fraser McKenzie (Edinburgh Rugby), David Young (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), Hefin O’Hare (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Dewey (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Webster (Edinburgh Rugby), DTH Van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors)3. Glasgow Hawks – Mike Adamson (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Barker (Glasgow Warriors), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)4. Edinburgh Accies – Ross Samson (Edinburgh Rugby), Kyle Traynor (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh Rugby), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), Phil Godman (Edinburgh Rugby)5. Watsonians – Steven Turnbull (Edinburgh Rugby), Ally Hogg (Edinburgh Rugby), Andrew Turnbull (Edinburgh Rugby), Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh Hamilton), Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors)6. Currie – Chris Kinloch (Glasgow Warriors), David Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott Forrest (Scotland 7s), Mark McMillan (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Cairns (Edinburgh Rugby), Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)7. West of Scotland – Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Murchie (Glasgow Warriors), James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors), Al Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors), Bernardo Stortoni (Glasgow Warriors)8. Selkirk – Sean Crombie (Edinburgh Rugby), Simon Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Jim Thompson (Edinburgh Rugby), Craig Hamilton (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)9. Melrose – Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Mark Robertson (Edinburgh Rugby), Dan Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)10. Boroughmuir – Andrew Easson (Edinburgh Rugby), Roddy Grant (Edinburgh Rugby), Steve Jones (Edinburgh Rugby), Dave Callam (Edinburgh Rugby), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), Justin Va’a (Glasgow Warriors)11. Heriot’s – Dave McCall (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Newlands (Edinburgh Rugby), John Houston (Edinburgh Rugby), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)12. Ayr – Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby), Hamish Mitchell (Glasgow Warriors), Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners