Scotland 7s squad named for Toulouse and Twickenham

Scotland 7s squad named for Toulouse and Twickenham

Scotland 7s welcome back Robbie Fergusson to a 13-player squad for upcoming HSBC World Sevens Series legs in Toulouse and London.

Fergusson, who represented Team GB at the delayed Tokyo Olympic Games, returns to sevens duty after a spell with Glasgow Warriors and is set for a first outing for Scotland since featuring at Vancouver in 2020.

The 28-year-old joins fellow Olympians Ross McCann and Alec Coombes in a squad once more led by captain by Jamie Farndale.

Edinburgh Rugby wing Freddie Owsley is included for the first time, his raw pace set to complement fellow flyer Jordan Edmunds, who is Scotland’s leading try scorer on the circuit this season with 11.

Lee Jones and Grant Hughes also return to Beattie’s group after missing recent events with respective knee and hand injuries.

Harvey Elms, who passed 50 season points in Vancouver’s previous leg, joins Femi Sofolarin, Paddy Kelly, Kaleem Barreto and Matt Davidson to complete Scotland’s selection.

Head Coach Ciaran Beattie said: “We are aiming to take the progress made in Vancouver and improve again against top-class opposition. We feel like we are getting better with each passing week and there is a real bond in this young squad.

“Being able to welcome back Robbie Fergusson, a talented player we know and who holds the respect of his peers, is another boost for the trips to France and then Twickenham.”

Scotland will compete in Pool C in Toulouse, alongside New Zealand, Australia and USA, with later tournament fixtures to be determined by pool placings.

All matches will be streamed live on the World Rugby YouTube channel.

Scotland 7s squad for HSBC World Sevens Series events in Toulouse (20-22 May) and London (28 and 29 May) – Scotland 7s events in brackets:

Jamie Farndale (47) Captain

Kaleem Barreto (6) Vice-captain

Alec Coombes (18)

Matt Davidson (4)

Jordan Edmunds (4)

Harvey Elms (25)

Robbie Fergusson (25)

Grant Hughes (2)

Paddy Kelly (8)

Lee Jones (28)

Ross McCann (20)

Freddie Owsley (0)

Femi Sofolarin (5)

Pool C fixtures, Toulouse, all times BST:

Friday 20 May

New Zealand 7s v Scotland 7s, 11.44am

Australia 7s v Scotland 7s, 6.46pm

Saturday 21 May

Scotland 7s v USA 7s, 11.44am

Remaining matches on Saturday 21 May and Sunday 22 May determined by pool placings.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners