Scotland Make Three Changes For Argentina Clash

Scotland Make Three Changes For Argentina Clash

Scotland have made three changes and one further positional switch in their team for Saturday’s Murrayfield meeting with Argentina.Following the 9-8 victory over Australia last weekend, head coach Andy Robinson describes the changes as “subtle”. They see 24-year-old Edinburgh flanker Alan MacDonald introduced for his first cap, alongside the return of Ben Cairns (his fellow Royal High School former pupil) and Thom Evans in the back division, with Alex Grove moving to inside centre.The alternations have been undertaken with a view to delivering a win against Argentina who are above Scotland in the IRB world rankings.Robinson said: “We do have competition for places and last weekend was about two international victories at Murrayfield against Australia and at Netherdale against Tonga. Australia was a very physical international and that is now history. This selection is about the management of our squad and giving players that performed in the A team an opportunity to deliver a win for Scotland.”On the new cap Robinson said: “Alan MacDonald has been playing well for Scotland A. His continuity skills are very good and he deserves this chance.”Scotland team (sponsor Murray) to play Argentina in the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn TestSaturday 28 November at Murrayfield (kick-off 2.30pm) 15 Rory Lamont (Toulon) 14 Sean Lamont (Scarlets)13 Ben Cairns (Edinburgh)12 Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors)11 Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors) 10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)9 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN 1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)4 Nathan Hines (Leinster)5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester)8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)7 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh) *Substitutes16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)17 Kyle Traynor (Edinburgh)18 Jason White (Clermont Auvergne)19 Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors)20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester)21 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh)22 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh) Discounted through injury: Mike Blair (Edinburgh)*= New cap  Officials Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland).  Touch-judges: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland) and Stuart Terheege (England).  TMO: Tony Rowlands (Wales)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners