Scotland name 37 players for summer fixtures

Scotland name 37 players for summer fixtures

Scotland have today - Tuesday 1 June - named a 37-strong squad for their upcoming summer fixtures, including 17 uncapped players in contention to earn full international honours.

Interim Head Coach, Mike Blair, will oversee a group captained by Edinburgh Rugby’s Jamie Ritchie for games against England A, Romania and Georgia.

With eight Scottish players unavailable following their selection for the British & Irish Lions’ own tour to South Africa the summer squad combines youth and experience and provides an opportunity for players two years out from a Rugby World Cup to demonstrate their international credentials.

The full group will convene on Tuesday 15 June to prepare for the England A fixture on Sunday 27 June, with a smaller squad then travelling to Romania and Georgia for the two Test matches on consecutive Saturdays, 10 & 17 July respectively.

Of the uncapped contingent, Luke Crosbie, Charlie Shiel (both Edinburgh Rugby) Rory Darge, Jamie Dobie, Rufus McLean, Ross Thompson, (all Glasgow Warriors) Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) and Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) have previously spent time in the Scotland set-up.

For others, namely centre/wing Sione Tuipulotu, second row Kiran McDonald, back three player Cole Forbes (all Glasgow Warriors), wing Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby), props Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints), Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) and Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights), and second rows Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) and Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby) call-ups will represent their first taste of a senior international camp.

The squad retains experienced players, with no fewer than 20 previously representing Scotland.

Indeed, six players – Blair Kinghorn, Matt Scott, Adam Hastings, Scott Cummings, Simon Berghan and Jamie Ritchie – have earned at least 20 caps to date.

Interim Head Coach, Mike Blair, said: “We have selected a mix of genuine Test match experience and a number of players who have impressed in the recent past to warrant a place in a squad that will want to continue the positive progress we have built up on and off the pitch in recent months.

“England A, Romania and Georgia will each pose different and tough challenges and we will have to be operating at our best to enjoy success, continuing on from some promising performances during the 2021 Guinness Six Nations.

“With the next Rugby World Cup two years away this period gives us an opportunity to increase our depth in key positions and work with players who can put up their hands for international selection this summer, and beyond.”

Scotland Squad for 2021 summer series


Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) – Uncapped

Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints) – Uncapped

Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) – Uncapped

Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 31 caps

Jamie Bhatti (Bath Rugby) – 18 caps

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby) – 14 caps

David Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps

Alex Craig (Gloucester Rugby) – 2 caps

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps

Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) – Uncapped

Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights) – Uncapped

Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) CAPTAIN – 27 caps

Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) – Uncapped

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – 12 caps

Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps


Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Cole Forbes (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps

Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 25 caps

James Lang (Harlequins) – 6 caps

Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers) – 39 caps

Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 4 caps

Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners