Scotland name unchanged starting team for final championship fixture

Scotland name unchanged starting team for final championship fixture

​Scotland Head Coach Bryan Easson has named a settled side to face Ireland in the final match of the 2022 TikTok Women’s Six Nations at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast, this Saturday 30 April (kick-off 8pm) – live on BBC Scotland.

Having impressed in large spells against Italy last weekend, Scotland go into their last game of the championship with the same starting line-up, led once more by blindside flanker Rachel Malcolm.

Rachel McLachlan and Evie Gallagher complete the back row, with the experienced Emma Wassell and Sarah Bonar lining up in the second row.

Molly Wright and Christine Belisle pack down either side of hooker Lana Skeldon.

In the back division, Caity Mattinson partners Sarah Law at half-back, with vice-captain Helen Nelson and Lisa Thomson selected at inside and outside centre respectively.

Full-back Chloe Rollie is part of a back three that also contains wingers Rhona Lloyd and Shona Campbell.

Easson has added three players to his replacements, with Eva Donaldson (back row), Mairi McDonald (scrum-half) and Emma Orr (centre) adding options from the bench.

Easson said: “We’ve had a very honest review this week so our training sessions have focused on getting the details rights and trying to piece together the positive aspects of our recent performances.

“The decision-making process throughout the TikTok Women’s Six Nations has been around giving as much experience to as many players we can ahead of the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand. I’ve been really pleased with some of the performances from the younger players who have made the team selection choices a lot tougher.

“I felt the players performed well in the first half against Italy and this is another chance for that group to put the second-half wrongs to right at the Kingspan Stadium this Saturday.”

Scotland side to face Ireland in the TikTok Women’s Six Nations at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast (kick-off 8pm BST) – live on BBC Scotland:

15. Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 48 caps

14. Rhona Lloyd (Les Lioness du Stade Bordelaise) – 37 caps

13. Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 44 caps

12. Helen Nelson VICE CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 41 caps

11. Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) – 5 caps

10. Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 51 caps

9. Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – 4 caps

1. Molly Wright (Sale Sharks) – 13 caps

2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 52 caps

3. Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 16 caps

4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 55 caps

5. Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 28 caps

6. Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 28 caps

7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 27 caps

8. Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 11 caps


16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens) – 19 caps

17. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 15 caps

18. Katie Dougan (Gloucester Hartpury) – 16 caps

19. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 35 caps

20. Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University) – 1 cap

21. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 7 caps

22. Emma Orr (Biggar) – 2 caps

23. Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning) – 43 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners