Scotland set for Toulouse leg of HSBC World Sevens Series

Scotland set for Toulouse leg of HSBC World Sevens Series

Head Coach Scott Forrest has named a 13-strong squad as Scotland prepare to compete as an invitational team at the Toulouse leg of the HSBC World Sevens Series (May 20-22).

It is only the second time Scotland have featured on the circuit, having competed in Biarritz in 2019 and in a year that will also see them attend the Commonwealth Games, the Toulouse event will prove important in the lead up to that competition in Birmingham at the end of July.

Each of the 13 players selected was a part of Bryan Easson’s training group for the recent TikTok Women’s Six Nations, with a number of players having played a role in Scotland’s memorable run to qualify for this year’s Rugby World Cup.

Scotland are co-captained by Helen Nelson and Lisa Thomson, with further experience added in the form of Rhona Lloyd, Megan Gaffney and Chloe Rollie, those five players each having won more than 35 caps for Scotland.

The talents of Shona Campbell, Emma Orr and Meryl Smith, all of whom made their international breakthroughs in the sevens format, add youth to the ranks.

Scotland’s squad for Toulouse, where they have been drawn in Pool B alongside New Zealand, Canada and Spain, is completed by full internationalists Abi Evans, Caity Mattinson, Coreen Grant, Rachel McLachlan and Evie Wills.

Head Coach Scott Forrest said: “In such an important year for women’s rugby, with the Commonwealth Games on the horizon, being able to compete in Toulouse on the HSBC World Sevens Series provides some excellent preparation for us.

“It is only the second time that Scotland have played a part in the series but we have a good amount of experience in the squad and I’m confident that we can go to France and give a good account of ourselves.”

Scotland 7s squad for HSBC World Sevens Series events in Toulouse (20-22 May):

Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks)

Abi Evans (DMP Durham Sharks)

Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning)

Emma Orr (Biggar)

Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University)

Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs)

Rhona Lloyd (Les Lioness Du Stade Bordelais)

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)

Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors)

Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University)

Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks)

Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Pool B fixtures, Toulouse, all times BST:

Friday 20 May

New Zealand 7s v Scotland 7s, 8.52am

Canada 7s v Scotland 7s, 4.00pm

Saturday 21 May

Spain 7s v Scotland 7s, 8.30am

Remaining matches on Saturday 21 May and Sunday 22 May determined by pool placings.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners