Scotland squad announced for RWC 2021 Final Qualification Tournament

Scotland squad announced for RWC 2021 Final Qualification Tournament

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson has named a 30-player squad for the upcoming Rugby World Cup 2021 Final Qualification Tournament in Dubai.

Rachel Malcolm will continue to lead the side as they look to secure the last remaining spot at this year’s tournament in New Zealand.

As the top ranked team, Scotland will face the winner of Kazakhstan v Colombia in the final match of the tournament on Friday 25 February (kick-off 7pm local time / 3pm GMT) – live on BBC ALBA.

Easson has named three uncapped players in the squad: University of Edinburgh duo Meryl Smith and Eva Donaldson, as well as Worcester Warriors’ Caity Mattinson.

Mattinson, who was born in Inverness, made seven international appearances for England between 2017 and 2018, with the scrum-half qualifying to play for Scotland through World Rugby’s new eligibility rule that came into effect at the start of the year.

University of Edinburgh’s Anne Young and Shona Campbell are also named in the squad after making their international debuts in Scotland’s Autumn Test against Japan.

There is plenty by way of experience in the rest of the squad, with no fewer than 10 of the group having won at least 30 caps, as Scotland draw upon continuity of selection for the final leg of their Rugby World Cup 2021 journey.

Easson said: “We’ve have been encouraged by the performances the squad have produced over the past few months so we haven’t made too many changes to our preparations.

“The ability to select a 30-player squad has been a real positive for us, as we can keep working with the group that featured in the qualifiers in Parma, while also introducing some new players to the squad.

“It’s also great to have Caity Mattinson join the programme as well. As she hasn’t played for England within the past three years, she is eligible to join Scotland through World Rugby’s recent rule amendment. Caity has been really keen to return to international rugby and play for Scotland so it will be great to see her involved with the group.”

It has also been confirmed that Gordon Henderson will join Easson’s backroom staff as Assistant Coach, with Ross Miller returning to his role within the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy.

Henderson has recently joined from FOSROC Super6 side, Boroughmuir Bears, where he was Assistant Coach and has previously worked with the Scotland age grade sides.

Easson said: “I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Ross for his contribution to the squad over the past year. Ross was excellent in terms of the detail he brought to our line-out and contact work.

“Gordon is somebody that I’ve worked with over the years with Scotland age grade teams and he’s been working in the Super6 with Boroughmuir Bears as well, so he brings a lot of experience to the programme.”

Henderson said: “I’m delighted to join the coaching team ahead of what is a hugely exciting period for the squad.

“I’ve enjoyed getting to know the squad and management during the recent camps and I’m looking forward to helping take the squad forward in their development and progress ahead of the upcoming qualification match in Dubai and the Women’s Six Nations.”

It has also been confirmed that BBC ALBA will continue its coverage of Scotland’s qualification journey, with fans being able to watch the action live on Friday 25 February.

The RWC 2021 Final Qualification Tournament will also be live streamed across World Rugby and RWC 2021 digital and social platforms.

Scotland Women squad for RWC 2021 Final Qualification Tournament


Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 11 caps

Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 11 caps

Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 25 caps

Lisa Cockburn (Worcester Warriors) – 22 caps

Katie Dougan (Gloucester Hartpury) – 14 caps

Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University) – uncapped

Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 7 caps

Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 48 caps

Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 23 caps

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 23 caps

Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 30 caps

Lyndsay O’Donnell (Worcester Warriors) – 15 caps

Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 47 caps

Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 51 caps

Molly Wright (Sale Sharks) – 9 caps

Anne Young (Edinburgh University) – 1 cap


Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) – 1 cap

Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning) – 38 caps

Coreen Grant (Saracens) – 1 cap

Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 47 caps

Rhona Lloyd (Les Lioness du Stade Bordelaise) – 32 caps

Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – uncapped

Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps

Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 7 caps

Liz Musgrove (Unattached) – 10 caps

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning) – 36 caps

Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 44 caps

Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University) – uncapped

Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 39 caps

Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 2 caps

Unavailable for selection: Hannah Smith (Watsonians)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners