Scotland squad named for U20 Summer Series

Scotland squad named for U20 Summer Series

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named a 32-player squad for the upcoming Under-20 Summer Series.

Murray’s squad travel to Italy today to take part in the age-grade competition which will run from Friday 24 June to Tuesday 12 July, with all of Scotland’s fixtures taking place at Stadio Di Monigo, Treviso home to Benetton Rugby.

Within the 32-man squad there is a split of 18 forwards and 14 backs featuring 19 players who represented Scotland in the Under-20 Six Nations earlier this year.

Following their age-grade Six Nations competition, 24 players of the selected squad for the Under-20 Summer Series (75%) then went on to play in the FOSORC Super6 Sprint Series.

Liam McConnell and Kerr Johnston are just two of the nine potential new debutants to Scotland U20. The duo represented Scotland in the spring of this year in the Under-18 Six Nations Festival in France.

There are seven players named in the squad who come from the Scottish Qualified (SQ) programme, which identifies players living and playing rugby outside of our country who qualify to play for Scotland.

Of the seven, three players Euan Groenewald, Gabe Jones and Iain Carmichael could join other homegrown talents Ben Afshar, Finlay Burgess, Ryan Daley James Lascelles in making their Scotland U20 debuts this summer.

On his selection ahead of the Under-20 Summer Series Scotland Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “I’m really excited to be taking this group of players across to Italy for the Under-20 Summer Series and see what they can do. Whilst the results in the Under-20 Six Nations were disappointing, we’ve been building on the positives that can be taken from that competition to take into this summer.

“To have had 75% of our squad getting regular game time during the FOSROC Super6 Sprint Series, off the back of the Six Nations, has been fantastic for the players development. In training we can see that their intensity, skill level and desire to play a good attacking style of Scottish rugby is much higher.

“There are 11 members of this squad who are U19 and to have two Scotland U18 players stepping up to U20 so soon after their competition in the spring is testament to the quality of players that they are. In both McConnell and Johnston’s positions (back-row and center/wing) we’ve a depth of talented players so we’re keen to see how they can utilize both their physical attributes and skill sets in this next stage of age-grade rugby.”

Scotland first take on Wales on Saturday 25 June at Stadio di Monigo, Treviso, (kick off 4pm BST).

They will then play competition host, Italy, on Thursday 30 June (kick off 7pm BST) before finishing their group stage matches against Georgia on Wednesday 6 July (kick off 4pm BST).

The tournament will finish with a cross-group match on Tuesday 12 July (kick off and opponent TBC).

All of Scotland’s games will be available to watch live on YouTube, further details will be communicated when available.

Scotland U20 squad for Under-20 Summer Series

Gregor Hiddleston (Stirling County)
Patrick Harrison* (Watsonians RFC/Edinburgh Rugby)
Duncan Hood (Bath University)
James Lascelles (Gloucester Rugby/Hartpury College)
Ali Rogers (Ayrshire Bulls)
Iain Carmichael (Boroughmuir Bears)
Gregor Scougall (Watsonians RFC)
Callum Norrie (Stirling County/Strahallan School)
Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Jake Spurway (Stirling County /Durham University)
Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)
Rudi Brown* (Southern Knights/Edinburgh Rugby)
Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)
Tim Brown (Ayrshire Bulls)
Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter Chiefs)
Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir Bears)
Euan Groenewald (University of Pretoria (TUKS))
Matt Deehan (Newcastle Falcons)

Murray Redpath (Southern Knights/Newcastle University)
Finlay Burgess (Stirling County)
Ben Afshar (Southern Knights)
Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)
Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Andrew Stirrat (Ayrshire Bulls)
Ben Salmon (Stirling County)
Duncan Munn* (Boroughmuir Bears)
Thomas Glendinning (Ayrshire Bulls)
Keiran Clark (Southern Knights)
Kerr Johnston (Gala RFC)
Ryan Daley (Watsonians RFC)
Gabe Jones (Brunel University/Ealing Trailfinders)
Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player for 2021/2022 Season

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners