Scotland team named for RWC 2021 qualification decider

Scotland team named for RWC 2021 qualification decider

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson today named his team for the decisive Rugby World Cup 2021 Final Qualification match against Colombia at The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (Friday 25 February, kick-off 3pm GMT / 7pm local time) – live on BBC ALBA.

Scotland are one game away from a place in this year’s tournament, with the winners of this Friday’s match joining hosts New Zealand, Australia and Wales in Pool A of the Rugby World Cup.

Easson has opted for continuity in selection for the final leg of Scotland’s Rugby World Cup 2021 qualification journey, with 14 players retaining their spot in the starting line-up from last September’s qualifier match against Ireland.

The tight-five sees Lana Skeldon pack down alongside Leah Bartlett and Christine Belisle in the front-row, with Emma Wassell and Louise McMillan named in the second-row.

Captain Rachel Malcolm joins Rachel McLachlan and Jade Konkel in the back-row to form the remainder of the pack.

Jenny Maxwell gets the nod at scrum-half, while Sarah Law starts at stand-off, having kicked the crucial conversion against Ireland that secured Scotland’s place in the Final Qualification Tournament.

Helen Nelson and Lisa Thomson make up the centre partnership, with Nelson starting at inside centre and Thomson at outside centre.

An experienced back-three sees Chloe Rollie start at full-back, with Rhona Lloyd and Megan Gaffney on the wings.

Caity Mattinson and Eva Donaldson could also make their international debut on Friday if called upon from the bench, while Sarah Bonar is unavailable for selection due to injury.

Easson said: “I think it was important to look at the team that played against Ireland and Japan as we’ve got good consistency with this group at the moment.

“We’ve got real depth within our group, so it’s a testament to those starting this weekend but also to those on the bench who have been pushing them hard for places.

“Our pack has been really solid in recent games, while in the backs we’ve got a tried and tested group.

“We are really looking forward to the match. It’s been a long qualification journey for the group and I’m sure it’ll be an exciting match for everyone watching back home.”

You can follow all the action live on BBC ALBA and across Rugby World Cup’s social channels and website. Live updates will also be provided on

Scotland Women side to face Colombia on Friday 25 February at The Sevens Stadium, Dubai (kick-off 3pm GMT / 7pm local time) – live on BBC ALBA

15. Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 44 caps

14. Rhona Lloyd (Les Lioness du Stade Bordelaise) – 32 caps

13. Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 39 caps

12. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning) – 36 caps

11. Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning) – 38 caps

10. Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 47 caps

9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 11 caps

2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 47 caps

3. Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 11 caps

4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 51 caps

5. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 30 caps

6. Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 23 caps

7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 23 caps

8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 48 caps


16. Molly Wright (Sale Sharks) – 9 caps

17. Lisa Cockburn (Worcester Warriors) – 22 caps

18. Katie Dougan (Gloucester Hartpury) – 14 caps

19. Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University) – uncapped

20. Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 7 caps

21. Caity Mattinson (Worcester Warriors) – uncapped

22. Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 2 caps

23. Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) – 1 cap

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners