Scotland Unchanged For Tussle With Ireland

Scotland Unchanged For Tussle With Ireland

Head coach Andy Robinson has named an unchanged starting XV for Saturday’s final RBS 6 Nations Championship match against Ireland in Dublin.The selection means that Kelly Brown, who had to retire in the second-half of the Calcutta Cup clash with a head knock, is satisfying the return to play medical protocols and is fit to take his place in the back-row. Robinson is determined his charges should build on their 15-all Calcutta Cup draw and gain a tangible reward from their efforts in the competition.”I have spoken about the need for us to be consistent and put together back-to-back performances.  We did some good things against England last weekend but we have to look for improvements against a well-balanced Ireland team who will be looking to bow out on a high from the final match at Croke Park,” Robinson said.On the bench Scotland show three changes.  Scrum-half Mike Blair and prop Alasdair Dickinson have both recovered from concussion which ruled them out of the England game and they are preferred to Rory Lawson and Geoff Cross respectively.Elsewhere on the bench lock Nathan Hines has been ruled out through a knee injury thus Glasgow Warriors 20-year-old lock Richie Gray returns to the 22. Scotland team (sponsor Murray) to play Ireland in the RBS 6 Nations ChampionshipSaturday 20 March at Croke Park, Dublin (kick-off 5pm)15 Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais) 51 caps, 40 points through 8 tries14 Sean Lamont (Scarlets) 44 caps, 35 points through 7 tries13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh) 16 caps12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps, 15 points through 3 tries11 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps, 10 points through 2 tries10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors) 50 caps, 122 points through 4tries, 9 conversions, 20 penalties and 8 drop-goals9 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN 51 caps, 15 points through 3 tries1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh) 44 caps2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh) 37 caps, 10 points through 2 tries3 Euan Murray (Northampton Saints) 31 caps, 10 points through 2 tries4 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh) 26 caps5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) 24 caps6 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 34 caps, 15 points through 3 tries8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps, 10 points through 2 tries7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors) 17 caps, 10 points through 2 triesSubstitutes16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester) 19 caps, 10 points through 2 tries17 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester) 16 caps18 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps19 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh) 3 caps20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh) 61 caps, 25 points through 5 tries21 Phil Godman (Edinburgh) 23 caps, 71 points through 1 try, 12 conversions and 14 penalties22 Simon Danielli (Ulster) 24 caps, 30 points through 6 tries.Officials Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa).  Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa) and Jerome Garces (France). Television Mstch Official: Guilio de Santis (Italy).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners