​Scottish Rugby opens nominations for Community Recognition Awards 2022

​Scottish Rugby opens nominations for Community Recognition Awards 2022

Scottish Rugby has today (12 January) opened nominations for the annual domestic game awards, focusing on the on and off-field efforts of clubs and schools across Scotland over the course of the last year.

In-light of the domestic league coming to a halt as a result of coronavirus, the 2021 awards followed a one-off format to recognise those who supported their local communities during the pandemic.

The 2022 Community Recognition Awards will see categories from the 2020 awards reinstated to the programme to celebrate and recognise the efforts of players, coaches, match officials and volunteers from the domestic game.

The format includes six award categories, which will be awarded in each of the five regions – Caledonia Midlands, Caledonia North, East, Glasgow North and Glasgow South.

The award categories are:

Volunteer of the Season in Youth rugby, which recognises a volunteer that has gone above and beyond in youth club rugby to ensure young people are provided with the chance to play the game in a safe, fun and friendly environment.

Volunteer of the Season in Schools rugby will be presented to a volunteer who has made an exceptional impact in school’s rugby to ensure young people are provided with the opportunity to play the game in a safe, fun and friendly environment.

Volunteer of the Season in Adult rugby sponsored by Tennent’s Lager, which credits a volunteer who has made a significant contribution to adult rugby, going the extra mile to provide rugby opportunities for all.

Young Person’s Award, which recognises the contribution young people make in community rugby. The category is open to young people from 16 to 26 years of age who have made a significant impact in helping to develop opportunities for people to participate in rugby.

Community Club of the Season sponsored by Tennent’s Lager, will be awarded to a club which caters for the whole community, working tirelessly to promote equality, diversity, and inclusion in a welcoming, safe and fun environment.

Community Match Official of the Season, to be presented to a Match Official who has made a significant contribution to the game and executed a high performance on the pitch.

An additional award will be presented to the Glasgow South region, The Adam Gray Memorial Award. This award was created in memory of former Scottish Rugby Board and Council member and Stewartry rugby stalwart Adam Gray, who passed away in March 2020. The award aims to recognise those who have shown an outstanding contribution to the game in the region.

Calum Bruce of Carnoustie RFC, presented with the Volunteer of the Season in Youth rugby awards in 2020 at BT Murrayfield (Scottish Rugby/SNS).

The award winners will be announced in late March following their presentation at regional ceremonies – for which details will be confirmed with award winners in due course.

A National Performance Awards programme for the domestic game will take place later in the year. Awards in this programme include accolades for male and female Player of the Season across the Premiership, National and Regional leagues, and the male and female Try of the Season, sponsored by Tennent’s Lager.

Gav Scott, Scottish Rugby’s Director of Rugby Development said: “I am delighted to open the nomination process for this year’s Community Recognition Awards. Our annual awards programme and celebrating the club game is always a big highlight for Scottish Rugby.

“Whilst we’ve been able to resume the domestic league structure for the 2021/22 season, none of it could have been possible without the effort and dedication from all those involved in the school and club game, and that’s why the Community Recognition Awards programme is so important to us at Scottish Rugby.

“We want to shine a light on the unsung heroes of our game who, quite simply, make rugby happen in our communities. This year’s awards will give us the opportunity to give thanks to the fantastic volunteer workforce who are so vital to the success of rugby in Scotland.”
Gav Scott

“I’d like to wish the best of luck to all the award nominees, I look forward to sharing and celebrating the successes of our winners later in the year.”

The nomination process is now open for applications until midnight, 13 February.

All nominations received will be put forward to the Scottish Rugby Development Awards judging panel.

More information on how to apply, along with terms and conditions, can be found HERE.

If you have any problems completing the online form please email [email protected].

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners