Special Second Retrospective Capping Ceremony On Eve Of France Game

Special Second Retrospective Capping Ceremony On Eve Of France Game

Ahead of tomorrow’s Guinness Men’s Six Nations fixture at Scottish Gas Murrayfield, a further 19 retrospective caps were awarded to players to have pulled on the thistle in now-Test international matches.

Last year represented the 150th anniversary of the formation of the Scottish Rugby Union, and so we wanted to look afresh at our history and recognise the rich and enduring contribution those players have made to our game.

In a timeframe spanning the 1942 Services International between Scotland and England at Inverleith until a 1998 Rugby World Cup qualifier against Spain, the Scottish Rugby Union Custodian Board ratified an initial 57 identified players, with 18 more following suit.

Pictured: The most recent retrospectively capped players with the current Scotland squad, ahead of tomorrow’s Guinness Men’s Six Nations .

Following on from November’s initial capping ceremony, which honoured those to have played in largely Service and Victory international matches in the 1940s, players and their families from more recent matches were invited to the national stadium for a special event to receive their cap and view the current Scotland squad’s team run.

Pictured: Scotland cap 1181, Jeremy Mackin (left) with 95-year-old Mum Janet – who once played international hockey on the Murrayfield pitch!

Hosted by Scotland’s record points scorer Chris Paterson, the 19 now-capped individuals were met on stage by Scottish Rugby President Colin Rigby to receive the same style cap which has been bestowed upon every player since John Arthur was listed as the first in 1871.

The Calcutta Cup was on display, alongside the WXV2 and Auld Alliance trophies and Doddie and Cuttitta Cups, as families got a chance to get their picture with some of the silverware Scotland fortunately have in their current cabinet.

Following the research to award retrospective caps in the men’s game, Scottish Rugby will also ensure that all players to have represented Scotland Women will receive a cap, as the physical cap presentation was not always a part of the women’s game in the past.

Scottish Rugby will also embark on a project to ensure that all our international referees, in both the men’s and women’s game, will be recognised with a physical cap.

The list of those to receive their retrospective cap on 9 February 2024 (Scotland cap number in brackets):


  • Ian Murchie (1169)
  • Arthur Orr (posthumous) (1170)
  • Bruce Laidlaw (1171)
  • David Ashton (1172)
  • Stuart Johnston (1176)
  • Garry Waite (1177)
  • Julian Scott (1178)
  • Simon Scott (1179)
  • Tim Exeter (1180)
  • Jeremy Macklin (1181)
  • Ian Ramsey (1182)
  • Kevin Rafferty (1186)
  • Craig Redpath (1196)
  • Wat Davies (posthumous) (1206)
  • Colin Galbraith (posthumous) (1207)
  • Ken Trotter (1209)
  • Bruce White (1210)
  • Donald McLeod (1212)
  • John Robertson (1213)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners