The Thistles side named for WRU Development XV test

The Thistles side named for WRU Development XV test

The Thistles Head Coach, Claire Cruikshank, has made ten changes to her side to face WRU Development XV as they head down to Cardiff Arms Park for their third match of the Celtic Challenge competition (Saturday 11 February, kick-off 4.30pm).

University of Edinburgh’s Meryl Smith returns to captain the side this weekend and will form a half-back partnership with clubmate Rhea Clarke.

Scotland internationalists Eilidh Sinclair and Evie Wills will make their debut for The Thistles, starting at left-wing and inside centre respectively.

There are a further two positional changes in the backline, with Holly McIntyre returning to the wing and Emma Orr shifting to outside centre.

In the pack, Eva Donaldson moves to the second-row, while Erinn Foley and Alex Stewart get the nod at blindside flanker and openside flanker respectively, with Emma Turner completing the back-row at number 8.

Cruikshank said: “Despite the result last weekend, it was clear there were aspects that we had improved on from when we played WRU Development XV at Scotstoun a few weeks ago.

“Combined Provinces brought physicality and experience last week and playing against players of that calibre is invaluable for this group. We hope to see the learnings from that game taken into playing WRU Development XV this weekend.”

The Thistles team to face WRU Development XV at Cardiff Arms Park (Saturday 11 February, kick-off 4.30pm)

15. Roma Fraser (Cartha Queens Park)

14. Holly McIntyre (University of Edinburgh)
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s)
12. Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill)
11. Eilidh Sinclair (Exeter Chiefs)

10. Meryl Smith CAPTAIN (University of Edinburgh)
9. Rhea Clarke (University of Edinburgh)

1. Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)
2. Elis Martin (DMP Sharks)
3. Elliann Clarke (University of Edinburgh)
4. Eva Donaldson (University of Edinburgh)
5. Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh)
6. Erinn Foley (Hillhead Jordanhill)
7. Alex Stewart (University of Edinburgh)
8. Emma Turner (Corstorphine Cougars)


16. Nikki Simpson (Garioch)
17. Poppy Fletcher (Heriot’s)
18. Kaylee Fraser (Corstorphine Cougars)
19. Freya Walker (Watsonians)
20. Kiera MacDonald (Stirling County)
21. Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs)
22. Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County)
23. Sky Phimister (Stirling County)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners