Top honours for Scotland stars

Top honours for Scotland stars

Two of Scotland’s most talented young players are being recognised as the latest recipients of prestigious awards.

Harry Paterson, 22, who made his Scotland debut at full-back during the 2024 GUINNESS Six Nations Championship match against France, and 21-year-old centre Emma Orr, who was a star of Scotland’s success in the WXV2 competition, have been named as winners of the Sir Willie Purves Quaich and Lady Jean Macpherson Trophy respectively.

The trophies are presented annually by Friends of Scottish Rugby, who for more than 20 years have brought together supporters who have donated more than £600,000 to bolster grassroots Scottish rugby.

David Mackay, President of Friends of Scottish Rugby, said: “We are delighted to present these awards to Harry and Emma.

“Both have progressed through the system in Scotland, have represented our country with distinction in sevens and gone on to play with Edinburgh Rugby and Scotland at full international level. We wish them every success in the future.”

Harry Paterson said: “When I see some of the players who have won this quaich in the past, I’m very humbled.  I hope I can go on to win for Scotland, as so many of them have done.”

Emma Orr said: “Thank you to Friends of Scottish Rugby for their determination to support the women and girls’ game in Scotland.”


Previous winners: Sir Willie Purves Quaich: 

2000 – Donnie Macfadyen

2001 – Andrew Wilson

2002 – Allister Hogg

2003 – Chris Cusiter

2004 – Mark McMillan

2005 – Stuart Corsar

2006 – James Eddie

2007 – Moray Low

2008 – Sean Crombie

2009 – Richie Gray

2010 – Alex Blair

2011 – Duncan Weir

2012 – David Denton

2013 – Sean Kennedy

2014 – Jonny Gray

2015 – Finn Russell

2016 – Mark Bennett

2017 – Magnus Bradbury

2018 – Matt Fagerson

2019 – Darcy Graham

2020 – Jamie Ritchie

2021 – Scott Cummings

2022 – Rory Darge

2023 – Luke Crosbie

Previous winners Lady Jean Macpherson Trophy 

2019 – Rachel McLachlan

2020 – Rhona Lloyd

2021 – Evie Gallagher

2022 – Shona Campbell

2023 – Hollie Davidson

Pictured: Emma Orr and Harry Paterson with their awards, alongside Friends of Scottish Rugby President, David MacKay and his wife, Jane. 

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners