Women’s Cup competitions draws for 2023/24 season confirmed

Women’s Cup competitions draws for 2023/24 season confirmed

Scottish Rugby has today announced the draws for the opening rounds of the Women’s Cup competitions which will commence in 2024.

The final for the Sarah Beaney Cup, Women’s National Shield and Women’s National Plate will continue to be contested for at Silver Saturday, Scottish Rugby’s flagship finals event for the adult game.

Silver Saturday will take place at the Scottish Gas Murrayfield campus on Saturday 27 April 2024.

The Women’s National Bowl final will be contested on Saturday 13 April 2024, ahead of the Scotland v England Guinness Six Nations match. The match will take place on the back pitches at Scottish Gas Murrayfield ahead of Scotland Women taking to Hive Stadium.

The full schedule of each competition can be viewed, HERE.

Sarah Beaney Cup

For the 2023/24 season, the Sarah Beaney Cup shall only be contested between the top seven teams in the Women’s Premiership – Stirling County, Watsonian FC, Garioch, Heriot’s Blues, Cartha Queens Park, Hillhead Jordanhill and Corstorphine Cougars.

The eighth placed team from the Premiership – Stewartry Sirens – and the first-place team from each Regional League Division 1 – Caledonia North, East/Midlands and West – shall be participating in the Play Off Series over the same period, and therefore will not be able to partake in this season’s Cup competition.

Each team will play each other once on a home or away basis, with the top two teams progressing to the final at Silver Saturday.

In Round 1 of the competition kicks off on Saturday 28 January as Heriot’s Blues host Garioch at Goldenacre, whilst Watsonians and Cougars face off at Union Park in a capital clash, and it’ll be a Glasgow derby between Hillhead Jordanhill and Cartha Queens Park at Hughenden.

Stirling County have been granted a bye, but will face Hillhead Jordanhill in Round 2.

Women’s National Shield

All Regional League Division 1 teams, with the exception of the teams in first place, and the winners of the Regional League Division 2, shall participate in the National Shield competition this year.

No less than 20 teams have been drawn into four pools with five teams in each. The teams in first place after five rounds of Pool competition will progress to a semi-final, with the winners from those games progressing to the final in April.

*Denotes Regional League Division 2 winner

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Highland* Inverness Craig Dunain Annan Biggar
Peterhead West of Scotland Cartha Queens Park 2XV Oban Lorne
Hillhead Jordanhill 2XV* Howe of Fife Dunfermline* Greenock Wanderers
Grangemouth Strathmore Broughton Kelso
Aberdeenshire Quines or Shetland (dependent on which team wins Caledonia North League Division 1) Orkney Wigtownshire Corstorphine Cougars 2XV

Women’s National Plate

In the National Plate, teams from Regional League Divisions 2 and 3 will compete across four Pools.

The teams in first place after completing all scheduled rounds of Pool competition will progress to a semi-final, with the winners from those games progressing to the final at Silver Saturday.

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Uddingston Moray RDVC Caithness
Leith Mackie Bishopton Dundee Valkyries 2XV
Irvine Turriff East Kilbride Lochaber
Lismore Perthshire Kirkcaldy Bannockburn

Women’s National Bowl

Finally, the National Bowl will once again be contested for by teams from the Women’s Aspiring Leagues.

The teams competing in this competition have opted into playing and have been drawn into two Pools. The two teams at the top of each Pool will face off in the final on Saturday 13 April.

Pool A Pool B
Dumfries Saints Dalkeith
Marr Berwick
Greenock Wanderers Wasps Gala
Paisley Lasswade
Glasgow University 2XV Fraserburgh


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners