Consistency The Key For New Scotland Women Management

Consistency The Key For New Scotland Women Management

The SWRU today announced two new recruits to the Scotland Women national management team. Former Scotland Women’s acting head coach, Jamie Dempsey, and new team manager Nicola McGaughey join the national set-up having both been brought through the ranks in Scottish Rugby. Dempsey, who worked as a Scottish Rugby development officer for six years and a performance development manager for three, joins as head coach while the experienced Nicola McGaughey becomes team manager having already managed the under-18s and the Scotland Women’s development side.Speaking at today’s press conference, Dempsey said: I am delighted to have been offered the role as head coach of the Scotland Women’s team. It’s a fantastic opportunity for me to coach at a senior national level, for the Scotland team to have a dedicated and consistent coaching practice in place for the important up-and-coming fixtures and, of course, for the long term development of the side. “At our recent tryouts we saw an improved standard of trialists which has brought some real competition for places in the squad – essential to getting the best out of the players in terms of training and performing.Scotland Women’s captain, Jilly McCord, said: “Jamie has been working with the Women’s squad for over a year now in the assistant head coach role, and more recently as acting head coach, so we are very pleased that he will continue in the post. He is an enthusiastic and motivating coach to work with and I know that all the players are delighted to have a coach of his calibre and commitment.”After a disappointing Six Nations last season Jamie took over for the European Championships where we won two out of three of our games. Further to that, Jamie has worked extremely hard with players over the summer months with skills and fitness. This continuity in coaching has already made a difference, and we are aiming to ‘hit the ground running’ in our autumn international against Kazakhstan.Dempsey added: “The Autumn International will be a big game for us. We must ensure we get our season off to a strong start to set us up for the Six Nations and World Cup qualification matches. All players in the squad are determined to improve on their performances from last year and with the squad and coaching set-up now in place we have the best opportunity of doing just that.”Jamie will now set about preparing the Scotland Women’s squad for their first home autumn international against Kazakhstan in November, the 2009 6 Nations and the 2009 FIRA European competition, with overriding focus of qualification for the 2010 World Cup in England.Following the national trials, the Scotland Women’s national and national development squads are as follows:Scotland Women Autumn test squad:Heather Lockhart (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Sarah-Louise Walker (Watsonians), Beth Dickens (Murrayfield Wanderers), Jilly McCord (RHC), Joy Lyth (Lismore), Louise Moffat (Kirkclady), Lynne Reid (RHC), Sonia Cull (RHC), Louise Dalgleish (RHC), Erin Kerr (Richmond), Suzi Newton (Blaydon / Team Northumbria), Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers), Cara Di Silva (RHC), Sarah Dixon (RHC), Lucy Millard (Murrayfield Wanderers), Ellen Beattie (Murrayfield Wanderers), Nicky McLeod (Edinburgh University), Ruth Slaven, Keri Holdsworth (Watsonians), Sarah Gill (Murrayfield Wanderers), Nicola Halfpenny (Melrose), Lynsey Douglas (Richmond), Vik Blakebrough (Richmond), Alison McDonald (RHC), Sarah Quick (Murrayfield Wanderers), Lynsey Wheeler (Blaydon/Team Northumbria), Veronica Fitzpatrick (RHC)Scotland Women Development squad for autumn phase:Roz Murphy (Edinburgh University), Heather Law (Murrayfield Wanderers), Lynsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Katie Barker (Dundee University), Frankie Alcock (Watsonians), Natalya Macholla (Stirling County), (Kirkcaldy), Jules Sanaghan (Kirkcaldy), Hazel Beilinski (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Celia Hawthorn (Edinburgh University), Katy Green (Murrayfield Wanderers), Leah Cuthbertson (Watsonians), Ciara Baxter (Dundee University), Jenny Miller (Murrayfield Wanderers), Hayley Legg (Richmond), Stephanie Johnstone (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Louise Gray (Henley Hawks), Helen Munro (Richmond), Michelle Ovens (Murrayfield Wanderers), Fiona Reardon (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners