FOSROC Super Series

The FOSROC Super6 was launched in November 2019 and features six franchise teams, with part-time professional players and full-time coaches. It aims to bridge the gap between amateur and professional rugby as is the first step on the high-performance rugby ladder in senior adult rugby.

Super6 aims to improve playing standards, by better-developing Scottish players, coaches and match officials to feed talent into the full-time professional game.

In March 2023 it expanded from Super6 to Super Series to reflect an expansion of the tournament with eight teams competing in the FOSORC Super Series Sprint (a shortened competition) and seven teams competing in the main FOSROC Super Series Championship later in the year.

The six Super Series licence teams are: Ayrshire Bulls, Boroughmuir Bears, Watsonians, Heriot’s Rugby, Southern Knights and Stirling Wolves.

Watch live coverage of the FOSROC Super Series Sprint here


Owing to the Covid-19 pandemic a FOSROC Super6 winner was not able to be crowned until 2021 when Ayrshire Bulls over came Southern Knights who had been the most consistent teams in the league.

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND – OCTOBER 17: Ayrshire Bulls are crowned FOSROC Super6 champions during a FOSROC Super6 Final between Ayrshire Bulls and the Southern Knights at the DAM Health Stadium, on October 17, 2021, in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by Ross Parker / SNS Group)

Watsonians were double champions in 2022 when they won both the first ever FOSROC Super6 Sprint Series and overcame Ayrshire Bulls in the 2023 FOSORC Super6 Championship

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND – JUNE 10: Watsonians celebrate with the quiache during a FOSROC Super6 match between Watsonians v Stirling County at Meggetland Sports Complex, on June 10, 2022, in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by Mark Scates / SNS Group)

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND – OCTOBER 30: Watsonians celebrate at full time of the FOSROC Super6 Final match between Watsonians and Ayrshire Bulls at the DAM Health Stadium, on October 30, 2022, in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by Ross Parker / SNS Group)


Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners