Glasgow Warriors squad announced for European final

Glasgow Warriors squad announced for European final

15 Scotland internationals have been named in the Glasgow Warriors squad for their European Challenge Cup Final against Toulon on Friday night.

The Aviva Stadium will play host to the club’s first-ever European final. The competition’s only two unbeaten sides face off under the Friday night lights.

Fresh from signing a contract extension with the club earlier this week, Fraser Brown comes in to start at hooker. He is packing down between Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson in an all-Scotland front-row.

Scott Cummings starts alongside JP du Preez in the second-row. The pair resuming the partnership that started the semi-final victory over the Scarlets in Llanelli.

An all-action back-row sees Sione Vailanu and Matt Fagerson paired together on the flanks. Also in the back row, the tournament’s top carrier, Jack Dempsey, lines up at number eight.

Watch Scotland take on Italy, France and Georgia this summer at BT Murrayfield in The Famous Grouse Nations Series. Tickets available here.

Domingo Miotti is named in the number 10 jersey. Meanwhile, George Horne – scorer of more points this season than any other Warrior – starts at scrum-half.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones combine in the centres, the former having been named in the BKT United Rugby Championship Elite XV for 2022/23.

In addition, Kyle Steyn leads the side from the wing, with Sebastián Cancelliere and Ollie Smith rounding out the starting XV in an unchanged back-three.

The tournament’s leading try-scorer, Johnny Matthews, is selected amongst the replacements for Glasgow Warriors. He joins Nathan McBeth and Simon Berghan as the front-row replacements.

Having made his 100th appearance in Glasgow colours last time out, Richie Gray rotates to the bench. Lewis Bean pulls on the number 20 shirt for his final appearance for the club before departing in the summer.

Meanwhile, Rory Darge is another to switch to the bench after starting last time out as the back-rower completes the cohort of six forwards amongst the replacements. Ali Price and Stafford McDowall completing the matchday 23 for the Warriors.

Glasgow Warriors team to face Toulon at the Aviva Stadium, Friday 19 May, kick-off 8pm. Watch the match live on BT Sport:

1 Jamie Bhatti (88)
2 Fraser Brown (140)
3 Zander Fagerson (127)
4 JP du Preez (24)
5 Scott Cummings (105)
6 Matt Fagerson (94)
7 Sione Vailanu (19)
8 Jack Dempsey (38)

9 George Horne (98)
10 Domingo Miotti (19)
11 Kyle Steyn (C) (64)
12 Sione Tuipulotu
13 Huw Jones (58)
14 Sebastián Cancelliere (24)
15 Ollie Smith (32)


16 Johnny Matthews (49)
17 Nathan McBeth (23)
18 Simon Berghan (32)
19 Richie Gray (100)
20 Lewis Bean (39)
21 Rory Darge (31)
22 Ali Price (129)
23 Stafford McDowall (56)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners