Laidlaw: Honoured To Captain Scotland A

Laidlaw: Honoured To Captain Scotland A

Greig Laidlaw admits he is champing at the bit to lead Scotland A against Italy A at the Stadio Vittorio Pozzo in Biella tonight (26 February, kick off 7pm UK time) and says he wants to lead by example.During his last start against Tonga at Netherdale, scrum half Laidlaw scored an early try and was later named man of the match and now he wants to build on that achievement by captaining Scotland A to victory in northern Italy.Laidlaw said: “I’m delighted; I’m looking forward to leading my country and hopefully contributing to a winning result. I’ll be concentrating on speaking to the boys and encouraging them while also working hard on my own game and hopefully leading by example.”Click here to see the teams. Italy A: Paolo Buso (Futura Park Rugby Roma); Samuele Pace (Viadana), Andrea Pratichetti (Femi-CZ Rovigo), Matteo Pratichetti (Viadana), Michele Sepe (Viadana); Luciano Orquera (Brive), Simon Picone (Treviso); Franco Sbaraglini (Treviso), Davide Giazzon (Banca Monte Parma), Ignacio Rouyet (Treviso), Tommaso Reato (Femi-CZ Rovigo), Valerio Bernabo (Futura Park Roma), Simone Favaro (Banca Monte Parma), Manoa Vosawai (Banca Monte Parma).Replacements: Tommaso D’Apice (Futura Park Rugby Roma), Pedro Di Santo (Treviso), Mantvydas Tveraga (Banca Monte Parma), Silvio Orlando (Treviso), Pietro Travagli (Femi-CZ Rovigo), Kristopher Burton (Consiagi Cavalieri), Roberto Quartaroli (Banca Monte Parma).Scotland A: Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors); Mark Robertson (Edinburgh), Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors), John Houston (Edinburgh), Simon Webster (Edinburgh); Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (captain, Edinburgh); Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh), Kyle Traynor (Edinburgh), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh), James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Gray (Northampton Saints), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors).Replacements: Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors), Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), Craig Hamilton (Edinburgh), Roddy Grant (Edinburgh), Mark McMillan (Glasgow Warriors), David Blair (Edinburgh), Peter Murchie (Glasgow Warriors)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners