Perfect 10 Named In Scotland Team

Perfect 10 Named In Scotland Team

Geoff Cross has been handed his Scotland debut for the opening match of the 2009 RBS 6 Nations championship in a starting line-up that contains 10 Edinburgh players. Mike Blair captains the national team and he is partnered in a half-back combination with Phil Godman while Ben Cairns makes his 6 Nations debut in midfield.The back-three contains Hugo Southwell and Simon Webster while the front row is all-Edinburgh, Cross, Ross Ford and Allan Jacobsen and lock Jim Hamilton and blindside flanker Allister Hogg complete the Black and Red Army’s contingent. All 10 are part of a team an inspirational capital can be proud of and you can join them by coming to watch our next home match against Connacht (Friday 27 March, kick off 7.30pm). Call 0131 346 5180 and watch top-class players perform in a world-class stadium at a great value price.Cross, a qualified doctor, who becomes Scotland’s 1012th internationalist, is one of six changes from the team that started Scotland’s last match, the 41-0 victory over Canada, with Hugo Southwell, Graeme Morrison, Sean Lamont, Jason White and Allister Hogg who have 207 caps between them all returning._White, who will be winning his 70th cap, was introduced at lock during the Calcutta Cup win against England last year and has impressed in the boiler-house for his club Sale._ Scotland coach Frank Hadden said: I have been referring recently to the growing strength in depth of the Scotland squad._ The quality of the side weve chosen to play Wales is an excellent example of that._On the selection of Geoff Cross, Hadden reflected: Geoff first joined the squad during our tour of Argentina last summer and we have every confidence in him._ Having waited patiently through five games, it’s great that he now has this opportunity._Neither Euan Murray (rib) nor Nathan Hines (knee) could be considered for Sunday’s match._ Scotland team doctor James Robson said: ‘they continue to make slow but steady progress._ It’s too early at this stage to give an accurate prognosis of whether they will be available for selection for next week. Scotland team: Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh), Simon Webster (Edinburgh), Ben Cairns (Edinburgh), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Sean Lamont (Northampton), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Jason White (Sale), Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh), Ally Hogg (Edinburgh), Simon Taylor (Stade Francais), John Barclay (Glasgow) Replacements: Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Gray (Northampton Saints), Chris Cusiter (Perpignan), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners