Scotland team named for Australia test

Scotland team named for Australia test

Scotland Women Head Coach, Bryan Easson, has made three alterations to the starting line-up ahead of this weekend’s Rugby World Cup match against Australia at Northland Events Centre, Whangarei (kick 3am BST / 3pm NZ time) – live on STV player and ITV.

Rachel McLachlan and Emma Orr return to the fold at openside flanker and outside centre respectively, while there is one positional change as Hannah Smith moves to the left wing.

Easson said: “We haven’t faced Australia before so it’s going to be a different contest to last weekend.

“With a six-day turnaround, we’ve had a greater focus on analysis than usual and it’s been important that the players recover and reset ahead of this Saturday.

“It’s great to have Rachel McLachlan and Emma Orr available for selection again. Australia have an abrasive back-row and we know that Rachel brings physicality to her game, while Emma really impressed us throughout the Women’s Six Nations after making her debut earlier this year.

“It was excellent to see some travelling support here in Whangarei last weekend and I know that the support from back home has also been outstanding.”

Lana Skeldon will pack down alongside an unchanged prop pairing of Molly Wright and Christine Belisle.

Emma Wassell and Sarah Bonar will link-up in the second-row, while Rachel Malcolm, Rachel McLachlan and Jade Konkel are named in the back-row.

Caity Mattinson and Helen Nelson will pull the strings in their half-back partnership, while Lisa Thomson partners Emma Orr in midfield.

The back-three sees Chloe Rollie continue at full-back, with Hannah Smith and Rhona Lloyd lining up on the wing.

It has also been confirmed that Eva Donaldson has been added to Scotland’s Rugby World Cup squad as she replaces Eilidh Sinclair who has been ruled out of the remainder of the tournament due to an elbow injury she sustained in Sunday’s opening match against Wales.

Donaldson will now join the rest of the Scotland squad in Whangarei on Friday.

You can follow this Saturday’s action live on STV player and ITV. Updates will also be provided across Scottish Rugby’s social media channels.

Scotland team to face Australia at the Rugby World Cup 2021 (kick-off 3am UK time / 3pm NZ time) – live on STV Player.

15. Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 51 caps

14. Rhona Lloyd (Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais) – 40 caps
13. Emma Orr (Biggar) – 4 caps
12. Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 47 caps
11. Hannah Smith (Watsonians) – 35 caps

10. Helen Nelson VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 44 caps
9. Caity Mattinson (University of Worcester Warriors Women) – 7 caps

1. Molly Wright (Sale Sharks) – 16 caps
2. Lana Skeldon (University of Worcester Warriors Women) – 55 caps
3. Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 19 caps
4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 58 caps
5. Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 32 caps
6. Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning) – 31 caps
7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 29 caps
8. Jade Konkel-Roberts (Harlequins) – 54 caps


16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens) – 18 caps
17. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 19 caps
18. Elliann Clarke (University of Edinburgh) – 1 cap
19. Lyndsay O’Donnell (University of Worcester Warriors Women) – 16 caps
20. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 8 caps
21. Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 52 caps
22. Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 3 caps
23. Shona Campbell (University of Edinburgh) – 7 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners